The full list of DUP candidates for Assembly election

Arlene Foster
Arlene Foster

The DUP has announced its full list of candidates for the 2016 Assembly election.

It says it has 44 candidates who will contest seats across all 18 constituencies.

The list includes Jim Wells, whose candidature in South Down was confirmed earlier on Monday.

Party leader Arlene Foster said: ‘I am delighted to be leading such a strong team into the Assembly election. I have a vision for Northern Ireland, but to implement that vision I need a strong DUP team in Stormont. If people want me to continue leading Northern Ireland, then they should vote for our candidates right across the country.

“Unlike other parties there is no DUP candidate in the field simply to boost the overall number running. We have a strong mix of experienced representatives joined by new candidates who will be an invaluable addition to our team at Stormont.

“This election will shape the future of Northern Ireland for at least a decade. From West Tyrone to West Belfast DUP candidates will be taking a positive message to doorsteps across Northern Ireland.”

The candidates for each constituency are below: East Belfast - Joanne Bunting, Sammy Douglas, Robin Newton. North Belfast - Paula Bradley, William Humphrey, Nelson McCausland. South Belfast - Emma Pengelly, Christopher Stalford. West Belfast - Frank McCoubrey. East Antrim - David Hilditch, Gordon Lyons, Alastair Ross. North Antrim - Paul Frew, Phillip Logan, David McIlveen, Mervyn Storey. South Antrim - Pam Cameron, Trevor Clarke, Paul Girvan. North Down - Alex Easton, Gordon Dunne, Peter Weir. South Down - Jim Wells. Fermanagh & South Tyrone - Arlene Foster, Maurice Morrow. Foyle - Gary Middleton. Lagan Valley - Jonathan Craig, Paul Givan, Brenda Hale, Edwin Poots. East Londonderry - Maurice Bradley, Adrian McQuillan, George Robinson. Mid Ulster - Keith Buchanan, Ian McCrea. Newry & Armagh - William Irwin. Strangford - Jonathan Bell, Simon Hamilton, Harry Harvey, Michelle McIlveen. West Tyrone - Tom Buchanan, Allan Bresland. Upper Bann - Sydney Anderson, Carla Lockhart.