Carl Frampton ordered to fight Guillermo Rigondeaux by July 27 or lose WBA world title

Carl Frampton (right) saw off Scott Quigg on Saturday night
Carl Frampton (right) saw off Scott Quigg on Saturday night

Carl Frampton has been ordered to fight Cuban Guillermo Rigondeaux by July 27 or be stripped of his WBA world super-bantamweight title.

Frampton added the WBA belt to his IBF strap on Saturday night when he outpointed Scott Quigg in Manchester.

Speculation continues to mount over who the 28-year-old Belfast star will fight next, with WBA featherweight world champion Leo Santa Cruz appearing to be firmly on Frampton’s radar.

On Wednesday, WBA bosses said that their former champion Rigondeaux must be Frampton’s next opponent.

“Frampton, Rigondeaux, and their respective teams have been notified that [they] must fight on or before 27 July 2016,” said the WBA on their website.

The statement added that the WBA was “honoured” to have Frampton as its champion.

“We congratulate him on a performance that was as intelligent as it was effective.”

After Frampton’s win on Saturday, manager Barry McGuigan said that a contest with Mexico’s Santa Cruz was an “obvious fight”, and appeared to rule out a meeting with Rigondeaux.

“He’s amazing on the back foot but he’s negative,” McGuigan said of Rigondeaux, who fights Briton Jazza Dickens in Liverpool on March 12.

“What do we gain by fighting him?”