Carl Frampton stripped of WBA World title

Carl Frampton

Carl Frampton

0
Have your say

Carl Frampton has been stripped of his WBA title.

The Tigers Bay IBF Super-bantamweight World champion only won the WBA World title off Scott Quigg in Manchester at the end of February.

The WBA have stated they contacted Frampton following his split decision victory at the Manchester Arena to advise him that Rigo was the mandatory challenger.

However, the Jackal’s camp has since indicated their intention to move up to featherweight to face Léo Santa Cruz this summer - for the Mexican’s WBA Featherweight World title.

According to the WBA, Frampton’s team has also failed to respond to requests for clarity.

On those grounds, the governing body has stripped Frampton of his belt.

“In light of Frampton’s announced intention to face an opponent other than his mandatory and for failing to respond to WBA inquiries as to his intent, Frampton’s recognition as champion is removed,” WBA Championships Chairman Gilberto Jesus Mendoza said.

“Rigondeux shall come out of recess and face interim champion Moises Flores as his mandatory defense on or before 1 August 2016.

“If Flores or Rigondeaux wish to face any other opponent, the WBA may consider an application for special permit consistent with the rules of the WBA.”