Senior Cup holders Clontarf face Lisburn

Waringstown's Kyle McCallam and Donemana wicket keeper Ricky Lee Dougherty

Waringstown's Kyle McCallam and Donemana wicket keeper Ricky Lee Dougherty

Holders Clontarf have been handed a potentially tricky away day tie at NCU side Lisburn in the opening round of the 2014 RSA Irish Senior Cup.

2010 winners Merrion, who have reached the final in three of the last four seasons also face a trip to the NCU where they will take on Muckamore, winners of the inaugural RSA National Cup in 2012.

Donemana, winners of the competition in 2000, make the long trek to Cork County, one of two Munster sides in the competition. The other, Cork Harlequins travel to Pembroke.

The pick of the ties sees 2006 champions Railway Union entertain NCU Premier League joint champions Instonians, who made their solitary final appearance in 2011.

YMCA will be looking to rectify their failure to register an appearance in the final stages of the showpiece event, and they will be happy with a home tie against 1991 victors Downpatrick.

Newly promoted Ardmore face a daunting trip to North County, the most successful side in the competition’s 32 year history with five wins.

Another NW side with a difficult hurdle is Glendermott, who are in the road to Skerries to challenge 2012 winners The Hills. Waringstown, who won the last of their three titles in 2011, ending a 16 year NCU drought in the event, have home advantage over newly promoted Terenure.

Another three times winner from the NCU, Lurgan, face 1998 champions Strabane, while St Johnston, the first team from the NW to win the event back in 1987, take on CSNI at Stormont.

Fox Lodge entertain 2009 winners Leinster, while Brigade, victorious in 1996 and 99, face 1986 champions Phoenix.

Eglinton entertain NCU kingpins North Down, who were triumphant in 1989, 93 and 95, but whose recent record in the competition doesn’t do themselves justice.

NW league champions Coleraine play host to CIYMS, while Bready, face Ballymena,

The draw was also made for the RSA National Cup, with the stand-out tie being holders Malahide, who must travel to the NW, where they will play Ballyspallen.

Other fixtures which capture the imagination are last year’s beaten finalists Derriaghy who face Creevedonnell, and 2012 runners-up Balbriggan who have home advantage over Newbuildings.

The first round ties in both competitions will take place on Saturday May 10th, with the reserve date being set for Sunday May 25th.

Cork County v Donemana; Pembroke v Cork Harlequins; Railway Union v Instonians; YMCA v Downpatrick; North County v Ardmore; The Hills v Glendermott; Waringstown v Terenure; Muckamore v Merrion; Lisburn v Clontarf; Lurgan v Strabane; CSNI v St. Johnston; Fox Lodge v Leinster; Brigade v Phoenix; Eglinton v North Down; Coleraine v CIYMS; Bready v Ballymena

First Round Ties are to be played on Saturday the 10th of May (reserve date Sunday 25th May)

RSA National Cup Draw

Midleton v Ballaghaderreen; County Kerry v County Galway; Athlone v County Clare; County Sligo v Limerick Raiders; Dundrum (LCU) v Holywood; Civil Service (LCU) v Dundrum (NCU); Laois v Sion Mills; Balbriggan v Newbuildings; Carrickfergus v North Kildare; Templepatrick v Mullingar; Derriaghy v Creevedonnell; Cliftonville v Bonds Glen; Ballyspallen v Malahide; Killyclooney v Rush; Drummond v Bangor; Burndennett v Woodvale


Saturday 10th May - Round 1 (Reserve Day Sun 25th May)

Sunday 8th Jun - Round 2

Sunday 29th Jun - Round 3

Saturday 2nd Aug - Semi-Finals

Saturday 23rd Aug - Irish Senior Cup Final

Sunday 24th Aug - National Cup Final

Sunday 31st Aug - Reserve Date for both Finals




Back to the top of the page