David Cushley strike for Ballymena United sinks Ballinamallard

Ballymena's Allan Jenkins with Ballinamallard's Nigel Beacom
Ballymena's Allan Jenkins with Ballinamallard's Nigel Beacom

Ballymena U 1 B’mallard U 0

Ballymena United’s improved run of form continued as they beat Ballinamallard at the Showgrounds.

United keeper Yohann Lacroix was tested for the first time on 12 minutes when he tipped over Nathan Cashel’s back post header from Richard Lecky’s deep cross.

Ballymena went close just before the interval when Tony Kane’s long throw was flicked on at the near post by Mark Surgenor and Aaron Stewart just couldn’t get a decisive touch at the back post, with the ball arriving slightly behind him.

David Cushley grabbed the decisive goal on 62 minutes when he ran onto Allan Jenkins’ through ball to slip the ball past Alvin Rouse.

Ballymena United: Lacroix, Kane, Munster, Taylor, Stewart, Surgenor, Taggart, Thompson, Cushley, Teggart, Jenkins. Subs: Dolan, Ruddy, Lowry, McLellan, Davidson.

Ballinamallard United: Rouse, Crilly, N Beacom, Stafford, Keohane, Sheridan, Kee, C Beacom, Cashel, Lecky, Campbell. Subs: Crawford, Currie, McManus, Martin, Carrothers.

Referee: Mark Courtney (Dungannon).