IRISH LEAGUE: Referee Marshall admits Carroll mistake

Referee Tim Marshall shows a red card to Linfield goalkeeper Roy Carroll against Glenavon, on Saturday. Picture by Brian Little/Press Eye
Referee Tim Marshall shows a red card to Linfield goalkeeper Roy Carroll against Glenavon, on Saturday. Picture by Brian Little/Press Eye
0
Have your say

Former Northern Ireland international goalkeeper Roy Carroll is expected to have his red card rescinded.

Carroll was shown a straight red card by referee Tim Marshall for allegedly spitting during Linfield’s 2-2 at Glenavon, on Saturday.

It’s now expected that the Irish FA disciplinary committee may reverse the decision, after Marshall admitted he made a mistake when he seen footage of the incident again.

David Healy’s side also had Matthew Clarke sent-off during the draw at Mourneview Park and at the minute both Clarke and Carroll are suspended for tomorrow night’s rearranged Premiership game against Ballymena United.

However the Blues will be hoping that the ex-Manchester United keeper will be available for selection, but it is not yet known whether the ban will be overturned.