Northern Ireland name strong team for U-13 Milk Cup

Jim Magilton
Jim Magilton

Belfast’s Big Two provide the majority of players in the Northern Ireland squad for the inaugural Under-13 Dale Farm Milk Cup in Coleraine.

The two-day competition at the Showgrounds begins on Friday and also features Manchester United, Partick Thistle and North Dublin Schools League.

Linfield have six players selected with five from rivals Glentoran.

Northern Ireland’s Elite performance director Jim Magilton says: “Our programme for the players at this level is still in its infancy and it will continue to evolve.

“It’s great for the young boys to get to play in such a top class tournament as the Dale Farm Milk Cup.

“The addition of the U-13 minor section is a great idea by the organisers and our young lads are excited about playing in it.”

Performance coach Declan Devine adds: “It will be a fantastic experience. To get competitive games at this age will be great for the development of the boys. To play against Manchester United at any level is something you don’t forget. To do it at 12 or 13 years old is superb.”

The full squad is: Neil Kilpatrick (Dungannon); Paul McLaughlin (Glentoran); Ethan Warnock (Glentoran): Lewis McGarvey (Glentoran); Barney McKeown (Portadown); Padraig Robinson (Linfield); Patrick Burns (Linfield); Paul McAdorey (Cliftonville); Cai Gemill (Linfield); Fergal McGarrity (Dungannon); Jordan McEniff (Derry Colts – Tri Star); Lee O’Brien (Linfield); Conor Farrelly (Linfield); Ben Cushnie (Glentoran); Ethan Galbraith (Glentoran); Andrew Whiteside (Coleraine); Christopher Conn (Linfield); Ben Wilson (Oxford).

After Friday’s opening ceremony at Coleraine Showgrounds (6.15pm), Northern Ireland kick off against North Dublin at 6.45pm with Manchester United and Patrick Thistle in action at 7.45pm.

Saturday’s programme is: 11:30am - North Dublin SL v Manchester United; 12:30pm - Partick Thistle v Northern Ireland.

Later Northern Ireland face Manchester United and Partick Thistle play North Dublin SL. Kick off times are 6.45pm and 7.45pm, however, the order of the games will be decided after Saturday morning games.