Conor Bradley
Conor Bradley

Ulster athletes returned from the Aviva All Ireland Schools Cross Country Championships in Cork with eleven team and individual medals, including three golds.

Sean Corry added this title to his Ulster Minor crown. The Omagh CBS pupil had thirteen seconds to spare over the runner up. Peter Murray in eighth and Eoghan Byrne twelfth were backed up by Patrick Brooks and Jack O’Farrell as St Coleman’s took team gold.

St Malachy’s came third in the Senior Boys. They were led by Paddy Robb in ninth. Jonathan Whan of Wallace came eighth and Andrew Wright Grosvenor twelfth in the race led by Andrew Coscoran and Aaron Hanlon both from St Mary’s Drogheda.

Siofra Clerigh-Buttner of Colaiste Iosogain as expected took her sixth straight title in the Senior Girls. Eilish Flanigan, of Sacred Heart Omagh, was top Ulster finisher.

Clodagh O’Reilly of Loretto Cavan just lost out to Rhona Pierce in the Intermediate Girls. Rathmore took third and had another bronze in the Boys as Christy Conlon spearheaded them in sixth. James Edgar Friends was fifth, Rowan O’Fril St Malachy’s tenth and Eoin McCann also Rathmore eleventh.

In the Junior Girls Abigail McBroom in fourth led Loretto Coleraine to team gold with Sacred Heart Omagh taking bronze. In the Boys Ciaran Brolly, of Omagh CBS, was fourth, Patrick McNiff, Banbridge Academy, fifth and Aaron McGlynn Garm eighth as St Coleman’s took third team ahead of Abbey.

Olivia Nelson, of Stratherne, came second in the Minor Girls and headed her team as they took silver medals.

Conor Bradley came out on top of a five man battle to win the SSE Airtricity Walled City 10K from Ebrington Square, Derry.

From the start the City of Derry trio of Bradley, Declan Reed and Emmet McGinty along with Foyle Valley pair Scott Rankin and Adrian McGowan pulled away from the rest.

Bradley and Rankin opened a gap in the later stages with track star Bradley just crossing the line three seconds in front with Reed finishing a good third.

European representative Ann-Marie McGlynn finished sixth overall as she won the Ladies from Natasha Adams with Ita Kelly third.

Alan Bogle had a runaway success in the Roe Valley Trail Race at Limavady. The City of Derry had a two and a half minute advantage over Simon Reeve with Bruce Lovell third.

Springwell had a clean sweep in the Ladies through Karen McLaughlin, Kerry McIlmoyle and Rebecca Conlon-Elwood with Matt Wray winning the Veteran/Junior race from Peter Cromie and Michael Kelly.

Stephen Duncan had an easy victory in the Carmen 10K Race at Carrickmore. The 2012 winner, absent last time through injury, dominated the race and won by over two minutes from Leroy Brady with Gavin Corey and Fergus McGirr following.

Pauline McGurren was also in a class of her own as she won the Ladies by almost four minutes from Jenny Algar with Jacqueline Mulligan third.