BOWLS: Portrush bowler Ian McClure on course for Provincial hat-trick

Belmont Skip, Brian Daly
Belmont Skip, Brian Daly

Portrush’s Ian McClure is on course for Provincial Bowling Association singles treble!

The Ireland international will hope to harden his challenge when he lines out against Limavady’s Wilfie Moore – the 2005 champion – at Ramore Head on Thursday night.

McClure has had his hands on the trophy on four previous occasions, the first way back in 1995.

He regained the title in 2008 before savourng back-to-back successes over the past two years.

But there are a number of potential champions in the line-up, including Ballymoney’s Willie McCaw, who lifted the crown in2009; his club colleague James Martin, who triumphed in 2011.

The McKeeman brothers from Dunluce – Uel and Mervyn – along with their team mate Barry Kane; Cookstown’s Alan Paul and Ireland’s latest international, Aaron Tennant.

Mervyn McKeeman is due to line out against Martin in what should be a titanic duel; Uel is set to face Conor Brogan, from Ballymoney; Paul will go head to head with Portrush Peter Kennedy.

Kane will collide with Letterkenny’s Jimmy Hegarty; while McCaw is due meet his Ballymoney colleague Aaron Walker.

Provincial Bowling Association singles, round four: J Quinn (Letterkenny) v M Pearson (Portglenone), U McKeeman (Dunluce) v C Brogan (Ballymoney), W McCaw (Ballymoney) v A Walker (Ballymoney), I McClure (Portrush) v W Moore (Limavady), P Kennedy (Portrush) v A Paul (Ballymoney), A Tennant (Ballymoney) v D Gaille (Coleraine), B Kane (Dunluce) v J Hegarty (Leytterkenny), M McKeeman (Duinluce) v J Martin (Ballymoney).