Coach Smith names 18-strong squad for four nations series in Dublin

Alex Speers, Ireland
Alex Speers, Ireland

National Women’s Ireland Coach Darren Smith ha announced his 18 to compete in the Electric Ireland 4 Nations taking place from July 12th-16th at the National Hockey Stadium, UCD.

Ireland will compete in the tournament against New Zealand, Canada and Chile.

Coach Smith said: “We are looking forward to matching up against three quality opponents in Canada, Chile and New Zealand over the coming week. New Zealand and Canada are in full preparation for the Commonwealth Games and bring exciting squads who are striving to win medals in Glasgow.

“Chile are beginning their preparation for the 2015 Olympic qualifying campaign and will play matches in Dublin/Glasgow over the next few weeks.

“The squad was selected out of 21 of the national squad. Four players are with the U21’s who head to European Championship in Austria this week. Audrey O’Flynn has had a hockey break and we wanted to give her an opportunity to get back to some hard hockey training before playing internationals. Aine Connery is completing some personal commitments over the 4 Nations so we decided to let her focus on that. The 18th player will be decided once we have more information on Vanessa Surgeoner’s foot injury from the weekend training camp.

“We have been playing some tests over the past few weeks but this tournament will be a step up in terms of quality. It will give us a snapshot of where we are at so that our development towards 2015 and beyond can continue.”

Ireland Team – Electric Ireland 4 Nations

12th – 16th July 2014

Nicci Daly (Holcombe HC)

Kate Dillon (Railway Union)

Deidre Duke (UCD)

Nikki Evans (UCD)

Megan Frazer (Capt) (Holcombe HC)

Emma Gray (Hermes)

Hannah Matthews (UCD)

Stella Davis (Pembroke Wanderers)

Ali Meeke (Loreto)

Shirley McCay (Old Alex)

Yvonne O’Byrne (Cork Harlequins)

Anna O’Flanagan (UCD)

Gillian Pinder (UCD)

Cliodhna Sargent (V Capt)

Emma Smyth (Railway Union)

Alex Speers (Railway Union)

Chloe Watkins (Club De Campo / UCD)

Vanessa Surgeoner (Subject to medical clearance / if not Naomi Carroll)

ELECTRIC IRELAND 4 Nations Schedule

July 12th – 16th 2014.

Saturday 12th July

13.00: Canada v Chile

15.15: Ireland v New Zealand

Sunday 13th July

13.00: New Zealand v Chile

15.15: Ireland v Canada

Tuesday 15th July

17.00: New Zealand v Canada

19.15: Ireland v Chile

Wednesday 16th July

17.00: 3rd/4th

19.30: 1st/2nd