Donegal into Ulster Championship semis after win over Derry

Derry's Mark Lynch and Donegal's Paddy McGrath and Karl Lacey
Derry's Mark Lynch and Donegal's Paddy McGrath and Karl Lacey


Donegal came from three points behind to squeeze past Derry in Sunday’s Ulster Football Championship quarter-finals.

Derry led 0-6 to 0-3 before a Michael Murphy point reduced the margin to two after a somewhat scrappy first half.

The key period was the third quarter as Donegal hit 1-5 without reply as Leo McLoone netted a superb goal.

Derry cut Donegal’s lead to two but the visitors held on for a deserved win as James Kielt was sent off late on.

Derry: T Mallon; D McBride, G McKinless, C McKaigue; K Johnson, M Lynch, G O’Kane; F Doherty, Patsy Bradley; C McFaul, SL McGoldrick, E Lynn, Emmet Bradley, E McGuckin, C O’Boyle. Subs: E McNicholl, C McAtamney, A McAlynn, C Kielt, M Craig, O Duffy, N Holly, C McWilliams, Emmett Bradley, R Bell, C McGoldrick, D Mullan, A Devlin, T O’Brien, D Brown.

Donegal: P Durcan; E McGee, N McGee, K Lacey; F McGlynn, L McLoone, A Thompson; O MacNiallais, C Toye; P McGrath, R McHugh, D O’Connor, P McBrearty, M Murphy, C McFadden. Subs: M Boyle, D Walsh, L Keaney, P McGrath, C Classon, H McFadden, M O’Reilly, D O’Connor, D Walsh, D Molloy, L Thompson.