Firmus Energy athletics series returns for third round

Ella Armstrong
Ella Armstrong

Following a short break in the firmus energy Super 5 athletics series to allow for exams, more than 150 young and senior competitors turned out at the Mary Peters track last week to take part in the third event.

Traditionally known as ‘hurdles night’, Meet 3 offered Sprint hurdles race for all age groups. In the mini (8 -11) 60m hurdles 10 year old Ella Armstrong (234) from City of Lisburn stood out, heading the field with a time of 11.01s. Ella wrapped up the minis’ events winning the javelin with over a metre to spare. Ballymena & Antrim’s Tyrone McKee (239) took Gold in the boy’s mini hurdles.

City of Lisburn athletes had a good night with medals also for Josh Armstrong (263), Gold U15 80m hurdles, after a great tussle with club mate Bradley Mulholland (220). Bradley went on to win the long jump, 5.12m and the discus, 23.41m. Most impressive of the Lisburn athletes however was U13, Holly Mulholland (71), taking the 70mH gold in 11.99s over a second ahead of teammate, Erin Fisher (213) 13.16s and Lagan Valley’s quickly improving Tia Cashman-Hooke (212) 13.30s.

In the u15 category Dromore’s Kerry McDowell (251) excelled with two wins in the 75mH, 12.42s and the discus, 24.30m.

Promoting club Lagan Valley kept the blue flag flying with Kara McDonald’s (34) 4.66m long jump win along with a hurdles bronze. Squad partner Sarah McGlynn, (36) All Ireland Schools shot putt champion, lifted Silver in the discus in a pb. of 20.83m. Andrew Proctor, (249) also Lagan Valley, ran a strong 400m to earn Silver behind Newry’s middle distance star Oisin O’Callaghan (223).

With 5 athletes clocking under 9min., the Senior 3000m was perhaps the most hotly contested race of the evening with Annadale pair Stephen Prentice (282) and Glenn Phair (247) taking the honours in 8.38m and 8.42m respectively. Rachel Gibson (291) North Down, won the ladies’ 3000m in 10.09m.

We look forward to the next two firmus energy Super 5 meets on 7 and 28 August. For more information, please visit where participants can now pre-register for the next event.