Ford Fiesta Championship at Kirkistown

James Turkington
James Turkington

A record number of seventeen drivers will contest the latest rounds of the popular Ford Fiesta Championship at Kirkistown circuit on Saturday.

This one make series is not only proving popular at the County Down venue but at Mondello Park and a number of drivers from the County Kildare circuit will be in action against the locals.

Andrew Blair a winner on no less than four occasions this season but last time out, James Turkington made a return and to his winning ways, taking the top place in both races, entertaining racing is promised.

The battle for top honours in the Northern Ireland Formula Ford 1600 Championship continues tomorrow at Kirkistown with a double header, the Formula Fords headlining a meeting which features a number of other single seater championships.

So far two drivers have been the winners in Formula Ford at the County Down venue with Niall Murray topping the points table in his Motorsport Ireland car while Noel Dunne has been the major challenge for Murray with two race wins.

Murray who this season is the Motorsport Ireland Racing Driver of the Year is contesting no less than three championships, the All Ireland, the Northern Ireland and the Mondello Park based series.

Kirkistown has proved to be his most successful circuit, clearly the fast nature suits his driving style, however he will be returning to Mondello Park next month where the Northern Ireland Championship will conclude at Mondello Park at the LeinsterTrophy meeting.

When it comes to entertaining racing, Formula Vee is difficult to equal and so far at Kirkistown Sean Newsome and Adam Macauley have two wins apiece. However they will have to fight off a strong challenge to remain in the winner’s circle. Dan Polley was a race winner in very difficult conditions recently at Mondello Park and he could repeat his winning form.

Brian Hearty is the driver to beat in Formula Sheane and he has two Kirkistown wins under his belt this year at Kirkistown.Roadsports and the driver who has proved to be the master, Jim Larkham with his Radical, Paul Conn has scored two wins and completing a very busy programme Formula Libre and Historics.