Mondello to host Abrakebabra Irish Formula Ford Festival

Noel Dunne
Noel Dunne

Kirkistown last weekend displayed what race goers can expect this weekend as Mondello Park stages the Abrakebabra Irish Formula Ford Festival in memory of Vivion Daly.

The latest rounds of the Northern Ireland Formula Ford Championship saw Noel Dunne take two wins ahead of some very stiff competition which included the Motorsport Ireland Young Driver of he Year Niall Murray and the battle resumes at the Kildare track this weekend with a pot of money to the winner.

Neville Smyth and Stephen Daly are on the entry list added to by the return of Robert Barrable.

The younger generation will be represented by Sean Doyle and Jake Byrne, who have come up together through the Junior Racing categories.

Some new names will also be involved, such as Barry Rabbitt who will be hoping to improve his short but impressive single seater CV, which includes winning the Leinster Trophy last September.

The event will be a first for Mondello Park as two different circuit layouts will be used over the weekend.

Saturday will see the Formula Ford Champion of Mondello races take place on the National Track, along with a supporting programme made up of Formula Libre, Patch Fiesta Championship and Historic races.

The Formula Ford Festival event will run entirely on Sunday with the action moving to the International Track. Two heats and a final will be run to determine who takes the top prize, with additional prizes on offer to a number of sub classes.

In addition to the prize fund the support of Abrakebabra and other event sponsors has made it possible to spread the rewards through the entire field with entry fees being subsidised for all Formula Ford Festival entrants.

Of the two days of racing, Sunday’s will be the feature. A total of eleven races will be run culminating in the Formula Ford Final. Support races for Formula Libre, Patch Fiesta Championship, the Crowne Plaza Formula Vee Championship, Baker Automotive Irish Strykers Championship and the Yokohama Irish Touring Car Championship, will make up the rest of the programme which will be televised live on Mondello.TV.