STAGE 17: Stefano Pirazzi breaks down in tears after first Giro d’Italia stage win of his career

Nairo Quintana retained the overall lead
Nairo Quintana retained the overall lead

Italian rider Stefano Pirazzi claimed stage 17 of the Giro d’Italia after holding off his rivals in Vittorio Veneto.

The 27-year-old was part of a five-man break and surged late to earn the first Giro stage win of his career – and his team’s third of this year’s event.

Nairo Quintana retained the overall leader’s pink jersey, the Colombian holding a lead of one minute 41 seconds over compatriot Rigoberto Uran.

The Movistar rider – who also maintained his 3:21 gap to third-placed Cadel Evans – crossed the line as part of the peloton nearly 15 minutes after the breakaway group had finished the stage.

Quintana was at the centre of controversy over his actions on Tuesday, when he took the race lead partly as a result of making up time during a descent that many teams believed had been ‘neutralised’ – meaning some riders had not raced the section because of safety concerns.

Meetings were held among the team principals before racing on Wednesday, and subsequently team owner Oleg Tinkoff demanded the stage 16 result be cancelled, while Patrick Lefevere, from Uran’s Omega Pharma-Quick-Step team, called for the resignation of race organisers.

Stage 17 result:

1. Stefano Pirazzi (Italy/Bardiani Valvole) 4:38:11; 2. Tim Wellens (Belgium/Lotto) ST; 3. Jay McCarthy (Australia/Tinkoff-Saxo); 4. Thomas De Gendt (Belgium/Omega Pharma-Quick-Step); 5. Matteo Montaguti (Italy/AG2R); 6. Jussi Veikkanen (Finland/ +28; 7. Simon Geschke (Germany/Giant); 8. Fabio Felline (Italy/Trek); 9. Marco Canola (Italy/Bardiani Valvole); 10. Serge Pauwels (Belgium/Omega Pharma Quick-Step)

General classification:

1. Nairo Quintana (Colombia/Movistar) 73:05:31; 2. Rigoberto Uran (Colombia/Omega Pharma-Quick-Step) +1:41; 3. Cadel Evans (Australia/BMC Racing) +3:21; 4. Pierre Rolland (France/Europcar) +3:26; 5. Rafal Majka (Poland/Tinkoff-Saxo) +3:28; 6. Fabio Aru (Italy/Astana) +3:34; 7. Domenico Pozzovivo (Italy/AG2R) +3:49; 8. Wilco Kelderman (Netherlands/Belkin) +4:06; 9. Ryder Hesjedal (Canada/Garmin) +4:16; 10. Robert Kiserlovski (Croatia/Trek) +8:02”