Teer claims Lions 10K win with ease in Ballynahinch

Brendan Teer
Brendan Teer

Brendan Teer continued his love affair on the County Down roads with a brilliant victory in the Ballynahinch Lions 10K Road Race which was held in good conditions.

The reigning champion, fresh from success in the Leitrim and Ballygalget events, blasted into the lead as the 156 strong field moved up the Spa Road towards Montalto Estates.

It was Teer by 39 seconds from the resurgent Paul Rowan as they completed the first circuit with Barrie Atkinson, last year’s runner up Paul Carroll, Mark Wilcox and Christopher Wilson following.

The lead increased in the final lap as Teer looking very comfortable cruised home. Rowan never gave up and came in 54 seconds behind with Atkinson, Carroll, Craig, Wilcox and Wilson next. East Down had four in the top eight.

Tri-athlon star Heather Foley was equally dominant in the Ladies. She came through the bell over a minute before Jenni Black and Catherine O’Connor and went on to win by two minutes. Jenni and Catherine completed the rostrum.

Virginia Ervine just took fourth in a photo finish with Athanasia Sevastaki with Susan Smyth just behind.

Meanwhile Jonny Steede and Seamus Lynch repeated their Glenariff placings as they took the top two positions in the second round of the Northern Ireland Mountain Racing Championships at Commedagh in the Mournes.

The pair fought out a duel with Steede coming out on top by just eighteen seconds after the 13 kilometres. British round winner Alan Bogle was third with William McKee, Sam Heron, Alex Brennan and top M50 Deon McNeilly next.

Diane Wilson and Shileen O’Kane also repeated their first round placings in the Ladies with Hazel McLaughlin third. Mary Mackin ran superbly for fourth ahead of Helen Cassidy and Orla McIlroy.

And sprint star Amy Foster was unlucky to miss the Commonwealth Games standard when she came second in the 100m at Clermount, Florida.

The joint Northern Ireland record holder clocked 11.38 but the wind was unfortunately at 2.3 metres per second just over the limit. She had earlier run 11.50 in her heat. Although disappointed the Commonwealth time of 11.45 is obviously well within her sights. The Clermount race was won by Rebecca Haase of German in 11.27.

Paralympic champion Jason Smyth opened his season with 10.40 when fifth in the Mens event.

Annadale Strider Paddy Hamilton returned to competition for the first time since the Dublin Marathon with a comprehensive win in the Run Armagh 10K Race.

He led from start to finish and came home two minutes before Eamon White with defending champion Don Travers third. Gary Henderson, Matthew Hewitt and top M60 Paul Elliott followed.

Breege Connolly was simply superb. The North Belfast girl had only five men ahead of her as she took the Ladies by almost two minutes from Patricia O’Hagan with Donna Evans and Louise Smith completing the top four.