Wallace claim Burney Cup

Wallace celebrate
Wallace celebrate

Wallace 3 B’bridge Ac 3 (Wallace win

4-1 on penalties)

Wallace High School are this year’s Sinton’s at the Bridge Burney Cup Champions completing a remarkable schools cup double.

In a mouth watering final, both Wallace and Banbridge produced one of the best seen for many years, with the outcome decided in a dramatic penalty stroke shoot out.

With less than a minute on the clock, Man of the Match Jack Wilson, set up Daniel Nelson who lifted the ball over the advancing Justin Glass in the Bann goal.

But seven minutes later Clark Neville drilled home Bann’s first penalty corner to level the score.

And in the 13th minute Johnny McKee finished off a delightful solo run to edge Bann into the lead.

With Bann still in the driving seat at half time it was all Wallace in the second half, as the pegged Bann back and piece of brilliance from Jack Wilson saw him level the game in the 50th minute.

Bann were far from finished and with 10 minutes remaining they were back in the lead this time Aaron Reid popping the ball in a the far post.

Then disaster, right on the whistle Wallace won a penalty corner and at the second attempt Sean Murray slid the ball home for the equaliser.

After 10 minutes of extra time in was still undecided and to the dreaded penalty shoot out which saw Andrew O’Hare score the all important goal, to give Wallace the Burney Cup to add to the McCullough Cup titel.

Banbridge Academy: Justin Glass, Mark Campbell, Jake Rowe, Aron Rowe, David Armstong, Sam Farson, Robbie Scott, Ben Knox, Matthew Hurst, Timmy Watt, Johnny McKee (Capt.), David McCracken, Joshua Rowe, Clarke Neville, Andrew Ferguson, Andy Adair.

Wallace High: Fraser Rodgers, Thomas McRoberts, Mark McNellis, Ross Kelly (captain), Josh Curragh, Scott McCabe, Sean Murray, William Carey, Daniel Nelson, Jack Wilson, Andrew O’Hare, Ryan Getty, David Arneill, Craig Getty, Jacob Hermon, Jordan Taggart