Full line-up for Joey Dunlop tribute lap revealed

Isle of Man TT legend Joey Dunlop
Isle of Man TT legend Joey Dunlop

The full line-up of riders for a tribute lap at the Classic TT Races highlighting Ulster road racing legend Joey Dunlop’s greatest rivals has been revealed, with a distinguished array of including some of the sport’s most revered names.

Entitled ‘Joey Dunlop Road Racing Legends – The Rivals’ Parade Lap’, the event will take place next Saturday, with 26 riders taking part to mark Joey’s record number of TT successes.

Jim Dunlop, the only surviving member of the Armoy Armada, will also participate in the parade, representing his brother on one of Joey’s ex-racing machines.

A spokesperson for the Classic TT said: “The riders have been carefully chosen by event promoters the Isle of Man Government’s Department of Economic Development and are riders who were involved in what were felt to have been Joey’s most memorable races, or those riders who were his main rivals for a sustained period during his career.

“The riders will leave the line in single file and in chronological order to a narration read by Manx Radio TT anchorman Tim Glover, which will tell the story of Joey Dunlop’s remarkable career through the rivalries that defined it.

“Where possible, all of the living rivals will take part in the parade and for those names that are sadly no longer with us or unable to attend for other reasons, they will be represented by a rider linked to them by the missing rider’s family relationship, sporting achievement or nationality.”

The full list includes: Ray McCullough (represented by Denis McCullough), Trevor Steele, Mervyn Robinson (represented by Paul Robinson), Frank Kennedy (represented by Bill Kennedy), Tom Herron (represented by Steve Parrish), Steve Cull, Sam McClements (represented by Ryan Farquhar), Charlie Williams, Brian Reid, Mick Grant, Graeme Crosby, Rob McElnea, Paul Iddon, Neil Robinson (represented by Jamie Hamilton), Virginio Ferrari (represented by Neil Hodgson), Andy McGladdery (represented by Geoff McGladdery), Roger Marshall (represented by Gary Johnson), Phil Mellor (represented by Jamie Whitham), Robert Dunlop (represented by Michael Dunlop), Carl Fogarty, Steve Hislop (represented by Steve Plater), Ian Lougher, Phillip McCallen, John McGuinness, David Jefferies (represented by Nick Jefferies), Joey Dunlop (represented by Jim Dunlop).

Meanwhile, the Classic Racer Magazine Classic TT Lap of Honour also features a packed entry of legendary riders and iconic machinery on Monday, August 25.

Eighteen former TT winners will be on the grid, the majority of whom will ride the machines that helped them stand on the top step of the podium.

A total of 130 riders will participate in the lap, including John McGuinness, who will ride his 250cc Honda, which is a replica of the machine on which he won his first TT race in 1999.

Also taking part are eight-times world champion Phil Read, Chas Mortimer, double Formula Two world champion Brian Reid, Steve Plater, Charlie Williams, Graeme Crosby, Phillip McCallen, Rob McElnea, Carl Fogarty, Mick Grant, Ian Simpson, Brian Morrison, Con Law, Dave Roper – the first American to win a TT in 1984 – and two-time World Superbike champion Neil Hodgson.