Guy Martin off to flier with Spring Cup triumph

Tyco Suzuki's Guy Martin
Tyco Suzuki's Guy Martin

Guy Martin won the Ian Watson Spring Cup for the third time as the Tyco Suzuki rider made a victorious start to the 2014 season at Oliver’s Mount, Scarborough.

Ulster’s Ryan Farquhar made his road racing return at the event, twice finishing as the runner-up in the Supertwin class behind Ivan Lintin to mark a promising comeback for the SGS/KMR Kawasaki rider.

The day belonged to Martin, however, who is something of a course specialist at the ‘Mount’ and the Lincolnshire rider didn’t disappoint his fans on Sunday.

Starting from pole position, Martin took the lead on the opening lap of the feature race from East Coast Racing’s Lee Johnston and Ivan Lintin, with RC Express Kawasaki’s Dean Harrison, James Cowton and Seamus Elliott next.

Lintin moved into second place at the end of the lap two as Martin edged ahead by 2.78 seconds, although Harrison was on the move and powered into third on lap three ahead of Johnston.

Martin was in control of the race by over three seconds as Harrison looked for a way past the impressive Lintin, eventually having to settle for the final podium place as Martin took victory by almost four seconds over Lintin after eight laps.

Johnston was fourth with Cowton and Elliott the top six.

Martin also had the upper hand in the Senior A race on his GSX-R1000 for Northern Ireland’s Tyco Suzuki team, passing Johnston on the opening lap with Lintin third ahead of Harrison.

Maguiresbridge man Johnston was back in front on the next lap and stayed there until lap three, when Martin seized the initiative and went on to open a gap of 3.3 seconds.

Harrison squeezed past Johnston - who only made his Scarborough debut at the Gold Cup meeting in September - for second but could do nothing about Martin, who won by 4.189 seconds with Johnston third.

Lintin, Cowton and Jamie Coward completed the first six.

Martin had his work cut out in the Junior A final after a poor start saw Cowton hit the front from Elliott, with the Tyco Suzuki rider fourth.

By lap three, Martin had worked his way into the lead on his 600cc Suzuki and never looked back, going on to win by 5.222 seconds from Harrison and Cowton, with Lintin, Elliott and Daley Mathison next.

Lintin was in top form in the Supertwin class, overhauling early leader Farquhar and stretching away to win by 2.333 seconds from the Dungannon rider with Cowton third ahead of Jamie Hamilton.

Farquhar again made a flying start in race two but Lintin had moved to the front on lap two and pulled away to win by almost six seconds from the KMR Kawasaki rider, with Cowton again third and Hamilton fourth.

Coward won the Junior B final from Davy Morgan by only half a second after a thrilling battle between the pair, while Daley Mathison won the Senior B race by 15 seconds from Gareth Keys.

Alistair Howarth took a double in the Lightweight races for up to 450cc machines with Elliott finishing second and third.