John McGuinness joins motorsport icons in Hall of Fame

John McGuinness receives his Hall of Fame award from John Surtees
John McGuinness receives his Hall of Fame award from John Surtees

Isle of Man TT star John McGuinness has joined some of the world’s greatest motorsport icons after being inducted into Motorsport Magazine’s Hall of Fame.

The 20-time TT winner received the accolade during a glittering ceremony at the Royal London Opera House and takes his place on a star-studded list of 17 previous inductees from the world of Formula One, including Ayrton Senna, Enzo Ferrari, Sir Stirling Moss, Michael Schumacher, Sir Jackie Stewart and Nikki Lauda.

James Hunt, the 1976 Formula 1 World Champion and four-time Formula 1 champion Alain Prost were also added to the prestigious list at the event.

McGuinness, who attended the ceremony after returning from Australia where he had been competing in the annual Phillip Island Classic meeting for the first time, is only the third motorcycle rider to receive the honour along with John Surtees and Giacomo Agostini.

“I’m nearly 42 and I look pretty average,” said McGuinness, who received his award from Surtees on Wednesday night.

“But in my head I feel pretty good. I’ll carry on for one or two more years yet.

“I felt a bit nervous to be honest, there are so many champions on four wheels and two, but to see my name up there with the greats is a massive honour.”

Highlights of the The Motorsport Hall of Fame Awards show will be screened on Sky’s dedicated Formula 1 channel (Channel 406) at 8.30pm on Friday evening, January 31.