Glasgow Warriors confirm team for PRO12 semi v Munster

Glasgow's Peter Murchie
Glasgow's Peter Murchie

Captain Al Kellock will lead the Warriors at Scotstoun Stadium on Friday night, when they play Munster in the RaboDirect PRO12 semi-final (kick-off 7.35pm).

Glasgow have been in the play-offs four times in the last five seasons, but this will be the first time that they’ve hosted the fixture.

The changes from last week’s win against Zebre see Peter Murchie replacing Stuart Hogg at full-back. Sean Maitland and former Ulster player, Tommy Seymour come in on either wing, in place of Sean Lamont and Niko Matawalu.

Mark Bennett replaces Peter Horne at outside centre and forms a partnership with Alex Dunbar, while Finn Russell comes in at fly-half for Duncan Weir and Chris Cusiter replaces Henry Pyrgos at scrum-half.

In the pack Ryan Grant continues at loose-head, while Dougie Hall comes in for Pat MacArthur at hooker and Jon Welsh replaces Moray Low at tight-head.

After being named the RaboDirect PRO12 Young Player of the Year at the weekend, Jonny Gray replaces Tim Swinson and lines up alongside Kellock in the second-row.

Rob Harley replaces James Eddie at blind-side flanker, Josh Strauss comes in for Leone Nakarawa at number 8 and Chris Fusaro continues at open-side.

Glasgow Warriors head coach Gregor Townsend said: “Tomorrow night we will be doing all we can to make our first ever final.

“To be going into the play-offs by setting a new club record of eight wins in succession is very pleasing and we have built up some great momentum over the past couple of months.

“Munster challenge you in a number of areas and will come here with the experience of being involved in these big occasions. They also beat us here in October so we’re well aware of the task we face tomorrow night.

“They are one of the top teams in Europe and had a fantastic run to the semi-finals of the Heineken Cup.

“For the first time in the play-offs we are playing at home and it looks like we’ll have a capacity crowd at Scotstoun. Every player selected is determined to put in a performance to make our supporters proud.”

Glasgow team:

15. Peter Murchie

14. Sean Maitland

13. Mark Bennett

12. Alex Dunbar

11. Tommy Seymour

10. Finn Russell

9. Chris Cusiter

1. Ryan Grant

2. Dougie Hall

3. Jon Welsh

4. Jonny Gray

5. Al Kellock (Captain)

6. Rob Harley

7. Chris Fusaro

8. Josh Strauss


16. Pat MacArthur

17. Gordon Reid

18. Geoff Cross

19. Tim Swinson

20. Leone Nakarawa

21. Niko Matawalu

22. Ruaridh Jackson

23. Sean Lamont