Peter O’Mahony starts for Ireland

Jamie Heaslip and Peter O'Mahony at Ireland training on Thursday morning
Jamie Heaslip and Peter O'Mahony at Ireland training on Thursday morning

Peter O’Maohny is the only change to the Ireland starting line-up for Saturday’s Paris showdown against France in the Six Nations.

O’Maohny missed the game against Italy with a hamstring injury, but is now fit again and replaces Iain Henderson, who drops to the bench, for the Championship decider against the French.

The only other change comes on the replacement bench, with Leinster’s Ian Madigan preferred to Ulster’s Paddy Jackson

Captain Paul O’Connell wins his 92nd cap and packs down alongside Devin Toner in the second row. The 6 Nations leading front-row combination of Cian Healy, Rory Best and Mike Ross will face one of their toughest tests against Nicolas Mas and Thomas Domingo.

Johnny Sexton will again lead the backline having put his thumb strain behind him with a fine performance against Italy. Conor Murray has also fully recuperated from the illness that saw him leave the field early against the Italians. Brian O’Driscoll is set to make his 133rd appearance for Ireland.

On the bench Iain Henderson provides cover for second row with Jordi Murphy covering backrow and Rhys Ruddock dropping out of the match day 23.

IRELAND: R Kearney (Leinster), A Trimble (Ulster), B O’Driscoll, G D’Arcy, D Kearney (all Leinster), J Sexton (Racing Metro), C Murray (Munster), C Healy (Leinster), R Best (Ulster), M Ross, D Toner (both Leinster), P O’Connell (capt), P O’Mahony (both Munster), C Henry (Ulster), J Heaslip (Leinster).

Replacements: S Cronin, J McGrath, M Moore (all Leinster), I Henderson (Ulster), J Murphy, E Reddan, I Madigan, F McFadden (all Leinster).

France: Dulin (Castres), Huget (Toulouse), Bastareaud (Toulon), Fickou (Toulouse), Medard (Toulouse), Tales (Castres), Machenaud (Racing Metro); Domingo (Clermont Auvergne), Szarzewski (Racing Metro), Mas (Montpellier), Pape (Stade Francais), Maestri (Toulouse), Picamoles (Toulouse), Lapandry (Clermont Auvergne), Chouly (Clermont Auvergne).

Replacements: Guirado (Perpignan), Debaty (Clermont Auvergne), Slimani (Stade Francais), Flanquart (Stade Francais), Vahaamahina (Perpignan), Lauret (Racing Metro), Doussain (Toulouse), Mermoz (Toulon).