Ricky Lutton and Stuart McCloskey join emerging Ireland squad

Ulster's Stuart McCloskey
Ulster's Stuart McCloskey

Ulster prop, Ricky Lutton and centre, Stuart McCloskey, have been called on to the Emerging Ireland squad for the IRB Nations Cup tournament in Romania.

Lutton comes in for Connacht’s Rodney Ah You and exciting young centre, McCloskey replaces Noel Reid. Both players were called up to the senior squad.

Mike McCarthy had been ruled out of the squad due to a calf injury and is replaced by Munster’s Billy Holland.

Dominic Ryan has been named as captain.

Ireland open the tournament with a game against Russia on June 13, before playing Uruguay and hosts, Romania on June 18 and 22 respectively.

Emerging Ireland Squad

*denotes uncapped player


Niall Annett (Belfast Harlequins/Ulster)*

Michael Bent (Dublin University/Leinster)

Callum Black (Malone/Ulster)*

Paddy Butler (Shannon/Munster)*

Bryan Byrne (Clontarf/Leinster)*

Robin Copeland (Cardiff Blues)*

Sean Dougall (Dolphin/ Munster)*

David Foley (UL Bohemians/Munster)*

Billy Holland (Cork Constitution/Ulster) *

Mick Kearney (Clontarf/Connacht)*

Richard Lutton (Belfast Harlequins/Ulster)*

Tommy O’Donnell (UL Bohemians/Munster)

Dominic Ryan (Lansdowne/Leinster)*C

John Ryan (Cork Constitution/Munster)*

James Tracy (UCD/Leinster)*

BACKS (11)

Michael Allen (Belfast Harlequins/Ulster)*

Andrew Conway (Blackrock College/Munster)*

Craig Gilroy (Dungannon/Ulster)

Eoin Griffin (Galwegians/Connacht)*

JJ Hanrahan (UL Bohemians/Munster)*

Ian Keatley (Young Munster/Munster)

Brendan Macken (Blackrock College/Leinster)*

Paul Marshall (Ballymena/Ulster)

Stuart McCloskey (Dungannon/Ulster)*

Luke McGrath (UCD/Leinster)*

Johne Murphy (Young Munster/Munster)*