Robbie Diack and Rob Herring make Ireland squad for Argentina tour

Ulster's Robbie Diack is tackled by Quinn Roux and Jamie Heaslip of Leinster
Ulster's Robbie Diack is tackled by Quinn Roux and Jamie Heaslip of Leinster

Ulster’s Robbie Diack and Rob Herring have been included in the Ireland squad to tour Argentina in June.

The Ulster pair are two of four uncapped players in the 30-man squad named by Ireland coach, Joe Schmidt on Monday.

Munster prop James Cronin and Connacht scrum half, Kieran Marmion, are the other two uncapped players named along with backrow forward Diack and hooker Herring.

Ulster, who lost to Leinster in Saturday’s RaboDirect PRO12 semi-final in Dublin, have nine players included in the panel.

Rory Best, Iain Henderson and Chris Henry join Diack and Herring in the forwards, while Darren Cave, Paddy Jackson, Luke Marshall and Andrew Trimble are in the backs.

Notable absentess include Ulster winger Tommy Bowe and Leinster’s Sean Cronin and Cian Healy.

The squad will leave Ireland on June 1 - the day after Leinster play Glasgow Warriors in the RaboDirect PRO12 Grand Final - for the Two Test four against the Pumas.

The first Test takes place at the Estadio Centenario in Resistancia in the Chaco province in the north east of the country on Saturday, June 7.

The second Test will be played at the Estadio José Fierro in Tucumán in north western Argentina on Saturday, June 14.

Both matches against the Pumas will kick off at 3.40pm local time (7.40pm GMT) and will be broadcast live on Sky Sports 2, with coverage starting from 7pm.

IRELAND Squad (Summer Tour, Argentina, June 2014):

Forwards (16) -

Rory Best (Banbridge/Ulster) 75

James Cronin (Dolpin/Munster)

Robbie Diack (Malone/Ulster)

Iain Henderson (Ballynahinch/Ulster) 10

Chris Henry (Malone/Ulster) 14

Jamie Heaslip (Dublin University/Leinster) 65

Rob Herring (Ballynahinch/Ulster)

Dave Kilcoyne (UL Bohemians/Munster) 8

Jack McGrath (St. Mary’s College/Leinster) 8

Martin Moore (Lansdowne/Leinster) 5

Jordi Murphy (Lansdowne/Leinster) 2

Paul O’Connell (Young Munster/Munster) (capt) 92

Mike Ross (Clontarf/Leinster) 39

Rhys Ruddock (St. Mary’s College/Leinster) 2

Devin Toner (Lansdowne/Leinster) 15

Damien Varley (Garryowen/Munster) 2

Backs (14) -

Darren Cave (Belfast Harlequins/Ulster) 5

Keith Earls (Young Munster/Munster) 39

Robbie Henshaw (Buccaneers/Connacht) 3

Paddy Jackson (Dungannon/Ulster) 9

Felix Jones (Shannon/Munster) 5

Rob Kearney (UCD/Leinster) 54

Kieran Marmion (Corinthians/Connacht)

Luke Marshall (Ballynahinch/Ulster) 5

Fergus McFadden (Old Belvedere/Leinster) 26

Conor Murray (Garryowen/Munster) 27

Eoin Reddan (Lansdowne/Leinster) 54

Johnny Sexton (Racing Metro 92) 43

Andrew Trimble (Ballymena/Ulster) 55

Simon Zebo (Cork Constitution/Munster) 6