Sullivan Upper book place in Schools Cup final for first time

Sullivan's Josh Davidson in action with Coleraine's Oliver McDowell
Sullivan's Josh Davidson in action with Coleraine's Oliver McDowell

Sullivan Upper 27 14 Coleraine Academical

Sullivan’s superior pack paved the way for the Holywood school to reach their first ever Schools Cup final as they outscored Coleraine Academical by four tries to two to set up a meeting with Methody in the St Patrick’s Day decider at Ravenhill.

Two tries in each half saw Willie Anderson’s side through to the final in a game that produced six tries, two red cards and a yellow.

Sullivan scrum half Charlie McEwen opened the scoring on 12 minutes when Coleraine couldn’t control a defensive scrum, allowing the pivot to pounce on the loose ball behind the goal line but Mark Adair missed the conversion.

Adair added a penalty before Sullivan got their second try with the last play of the first half.

The pack had a series of pick and goes on the line before hooker Mark Crockford powered over and Adair’s conversion extended Sullivan’s lead to 15-0 at the break.

Sullivan added another try two minutes after the restart when their impressive maul took them close to the line and lock Josh Davidson went over.

Coleraine captain Conor Shiels got his side’s first points with a try from a quick tap penalty which he converted.

Sullivan were awarded a penalty try when Coleraine collapsed a driving maul on the line and Adair converted.

Mark Gordon scored a superb solo try racing over from his own half with Shiels converting. Both teams ended the game with 14 men; Sullivan winger Chris Jordan received a straight red card for a dangerous tackle while Coleraine winger Jack Scott was also dismissed for retaliation.

Sullivan’s Davidson also received a yellow card for his part in the mass brawl that followed.

Sullivan: J Betts, C Jordan, D McMaster, M Cartmill, R Spence, M Adair, C McEwen, C McEvoy, M Crockford, C Griffiths, M Clarke, J Davidson, D Clarke, A Bailie, R Todd (capt).

Replacements: J Houston, C Ball, J Bryans, F Jemphrey, D Gilbert, Z Bertenshaw, H Harper, M Nesbitt

Coleraine Academical: J Crowe, B Dempster, M Gordon, C Shiels (capt), J Scott, C Smith, R Gillan, D McAllister, K Burns, A Moore, T Pethick, G McKeag, O McDowell, P Bonnar, Joel Stanbridge.

Replacements: D Greatorex, S Greatorex, M O’Neill, A Corbett, J Bleakly, M Smith, M Norris, A Wisener