Three changes for Leinster ahead of PRO12 final

Leinster's Mike McCarthy
Leinster's Mike McCarthy

Leinster coach Matt O’Connor has made three changes to the starting team which faces Glasgow Warriors in Saturday’s PRO12 final

Prop Mike Ross replaces Martin Moore while Quinn Roux gives up his place at lock as Mike McCarthy returns from injury. In the backs, wing Zane Kirchner takes Dave Kearney’s slot after he was ruled out with a serious knee ligament tear.

The Boys in Blue have knocked the Scots out of the competition at the last-four stage in each of the last two years. However, their league meetings this term ended in one-win a piece after Glasgow triumphed 12-6 back in September at Scotstoun, while Leinster edged the March return 28-25.

But while the Irish giants - the three-time Heineken Cup winners - have vastly more experience on the big stage, O’Connor is giving his opponents full respect.

He said: “When you come to finals, it is about trying to get the performance right on the day and we’ll be looking to play our best game of the year, that’s what we do at this time of year.

“We know we’re up against a very, very good team in Glasgow - a very well-coached team as well. It’s a team we have had a lot of close battles with as well.

“We know it’s going to be a big, big task, I remember back to the launch Glasgow were the team I picked as the biggest threat, having played them in the semi-final last year I remember how good they were.

“We’ll focus on performance and the processes we need to get right and we can celebrate then. All week everyone has been very focused, we had a weekend off between now and the semi-final, it’s a long build-up so hopefully the guys are pretty well prepared.”


15: Rob Kearney

14: Fergus McFadden

13: Brian O’Driscoll

12: Gordon D’Arcy

11: Zane Kirchner

10: Jimmy Gopperth

9: Eoin Reddan

1: Cian Healy

2: Sean Cronin

3: Mike Ross

4: Devin Toner

5: Mike McCarthy

6: Rhys Ruddock

7: Shane Jennings

8: Jamie Heaslip CAPTAIN


16: Aaron Dundon

17: Jack McGrath

18: Martin Moore

19: Leo Cullen

20: Sean O’Brien

21: Isaac Boss

22: Ian Madigan

23: Darragh Fanning