Tommy Bowe starts for Ulster against Dragons in PRO12

Ulster's Tommy Bowe
Ulster's Tommy Bowe

Tommy Bowe will start for Ulster against Newport Gwent Dragons in the RaboDirect PRO12 at Ravenhill on Friday night (7.05pm) having recovered from the leg injury that has kept him out since November.

The British and Irish Lions winger starts on the right wing and is joined in the back three by Jared Payne, who is selected at fullback, and by Ireland Under 20’s winger Rory Scholes, who makes his first senior start for the Province.

Luke Marshall and Darren Cave maintain their partnership in midfield. Paddy Jackson has been released by Ireland and starts at outhalf, with Ruan Pienaar moving back to his more familiar position at scrumhalf.

Up front Callum Black starts at loosehead, with Tom Court named on the bench. Rob Herring continues at hooker with Ricky Lutton keeping his place at tighthead.

Johann Muller captains Ulster from the second row where he is joined by Iain Henderson, who has also been released from international duty.

Robbie Diack, Sean Doyle and Roger Wilson all start in an unchanged back row.

Centre Stuart McCloskey, who is a member of the Hughes Insurance Ulster Academy, is named as a replacement and will make his first senior appearance for Ulster if called upon.

The game is sold out, the 11th match to be sold out at Ravenhill this season.

Bruce Douglas will make his first start for the Newport Gwent Dragons this weekend, who take on Ulster Rugby at Ravenhill on Friday 28th February, KO 19:05.

The 34-year-old is on loan from Bristol RFC and will make his first start of the season since joining the squad at the beginning of the month.

There have been a total of four changes to the winning team that took on Glasgow Warriors.

Ulster: J Payne, T Bowe, D Cave, L Marshall, R Scholes, P Jackson, R Pienaar; C Black, R Herring, R Lutton, J Muller (Captain), I Henderson, R Diack, S Doyle, R Wilson.

Replacements: N Annett, T Court, A Macklin, L Stevenson, M McComish, P Marshall, S McCloskey, D McIlwaine.

DRAGONS: Rhys Jones, Matthew Pewtner, Pat Leach, Ashley Smith (c), Ross Wardle, Steffan Jones, Richie Rees; Owen Evans, T. Rhys Thomas, Bruce Douglas, Matthew Screech, Cory Hill, Jevon Groves, Nic Cudd, Lewis Evans.

Replacements: Nathan Williams, Hugh Gustafson, Duncan Bell, Rob Sidoli, Ieuan Jones, Wayne Evans, Jason Tovey, Jack Dixon.