Ulster and Munster name changed sides ahead of PRO12 derby

Ulster's Dan Tuohy captains the side against Munster
Ulster's Dan Tuohy captains the side against Munster

Ulster and Munster have made double figure changes to the sides who will face each other on Saturday night in the RaboDirect PRO12 Irish derby game.

Both Provinces have secured a place in the following weekend semi-finals, but while Ulster cannot finish any better than fourth, third placed Munster still hold out hope they could sneak into the semi-finals if they secured a victory at Thomond Park and the current top two teams, Leinster and Glasgow were to slip up on the final weekend of the regular league season.

It had always been expected Ulster would travel with a shadow team, resting some of their regulars, ahead of next week’s play-offs.

Head coach Mark Anscombe made 12 changes from the side whicih started in the narrow 22-20 defeat by Leinster.

The backs includes David McIlwaine, Stuart McCloskey, Rory Scholes, James McKinney and Michael Heaney.

Ireland lock Dan Tuohy is named captain with Lewis Stevenson, Mike McComish and Sean Doyle all named in the pack,

Munster’s more experienced line-up includes Paul O’Connell, Simon Zebo, Casey Laulala and Felix Jones.

Saturday’s match will be the first Tuohy has started an Ulster game as skipper although he has captained the team for brief periods in a number of games.


Munster: Felix Jones; Gerhard Van Den Heever, Casey Laulala, James Downey, Simon Zebo; Ian Keatley, Duncan Williams; Dave Kilcoyne, Damien Varley (capt), John Ryan; Dave Foley, Paul O’Connell; Paddy Butler, Sean Dougall, James Coughlan. Replacements: Quentin MacDonald, James Cronin, Alan Cotter, Billy Holland, Tommy O’Donnell, Conor Murray, JJ Hanrahan, Keith Earls

Ulster: Craig Gilroy; David McIlwaine, Michael Allen, Stuart McCloskey, Rory Scholes; James McKinney, Michael Heaney; Callum Black, Rob Herring, Andrew Warwick; L Stevenson, Dan Tuohy (capt); Mike McComish, Sean Doyle, Nick Williams. Replacements: Kyle McCall, Bronson Ross, Adam Macklin, Neil McComb, Conor Joyce, David Shanahan, Ricky Andrew, Peter Nelson.