Charlotte Church due in Belfast to present major art prize

Charlotte Church
Charlotte Church

Charlotte Church will be in Belfaat this month to announce the winner of the biggest contemporary art prize in Ireland.

The Welsh singer will hand over a £20,000 award to the victor in the 2016 MAC International Ulster Bank Prize on October 27.

It is the second such award.

The overall winner of the 2016 award will be chosen by an international judging panel from a shortlist of 18 artists who successfully made it through the open submission.

Over 1,000 artists entered the competition from more than 40 countries across the world. 

The shortlisted artists will showcase their work in an exhibition which will run across all three MAC galleries from October 27 until February 19.

This will feature the very best of contemporary visual art including painting, photography, film and installation. Among the countries represented by the 18 artists are Brazil, Iceland, France, the US, the UK and Northern Ireland.

Charlotte Church, whose 1998 debut album Voice Of An Angel sold over 600,000 copies, making her the youngest artist ever to top the classical chart, will be the special host on the night of the award presentation.

Sean Murphy, Managing Director, Branch Banking at Ulster Bank, title sponsor of the MAC International award, said: “We’re proud to support MAC International as a means for expression, innovation and because it is really a compelling exhibition. It’s an opportunity for as many people as possible to see some amazing artistic ability.”

The list of shortlisted artists is below (more information at

• Jasmina Cibic – Ljubljana, Slovenia

• Ismar Cirkinagic – Copenhagen, Denmark

• Teresa Cos – London, UK

• Angel de la Rubia – Brussels, Belgium

• Wojtek Doroszuk – Rouen, France

• Mariah Garnett – Los Angeles, USA

• Joy Gerrard – London, UK

• Núria Güell – Barcelona, Spain

• Halloubi Hamza – Amsterdam, Netherlands

• Darren Harvey-Regan – London, UK

• Frederic Huska – Belfast, UK

• Rósa Sigrún Jónsdóttir – Reykjavik, Iceland

• Ana Mendes – London, UK

• Tom Molloy – Notre Dame de Bondeville, France

• Henrique Neves Lisbon, Portugal

• Beto Shwafaty – Sao Paulo, Brazil

• Emma Talbot – London, UK

• Nikolas Ventourakis – London, UK