Election 2016: Still no winners in West Tyrone

Tom Buchanan is expected to be confirmed as an MLA soon after counting resumes
Tom Buchanan is expected to be confirmed as an MLA soon after counting resumes

Counting in West Tyrone finished on Friday night after more than 12 hours with no winners declared.

Sinn Fein’s Barry McElduff was in the lead by six votes over Tom Buchanan of the DUP, but none of the candidates had yet reached the 5,845 quota.

However, it is expected that there will be little change in the constituency when counting resumes on Saturday morning and that both Mr McElduff and Mr Buchanan will retain their Assembly seats.

Sorcha McAnespy, who quit Sinn Fein to stand in the election, and Patsy Kelly, who quit the SDLP just weeks ago, have both been eliminated from the race.

Josephine Deehan also quit the party weeks before the election and was eliminated on the seventh count.

It is now down to the final eight after 10 of the 18 candidates were eliminated, including Roger Lomas of the Conservatives, independent Susan Anne White and Laura McAnea of the Animal Welfare Party.

Ross Hussey from the Ulster Unionist Party is expected to retain his seat, as is Daniel McCrossan of the SDLP.

Overall there is expected to be little change in the make-up of West Tyrone when counting resumes.

WEST TYRONE CONSTITUENCY (first preference votes)

• Michaela Boyle (SF)4,460

• Allan Bresland (DUP)3,884

• Barry Brown (CISTA)548

• Thomas Buchanan (DUP) 4,650

• Joesphine Deehan (Ind)1,778

• Stephen Donnelly (Alliance)494

• Corey French (Ind)124

• Ross Hussey (UUP)4,441

• Patsy Kelly (Ind)661

• Roger Lomas (Con)44

• Declan McAleer (SF)3,565

• Laura McAnea (Animal Welfare)224

• Sorcha McAnespy (Ind)828

• Ciaran McClean (Green)458

• Daniel McCrossan (SDLP)4,287

• Grace McDermott (SF)3,711

• Barry McElduff (SF)4,568

• Susan-Anne White (Ind)85

TURNOUT: 59.86%