2016 election: North Antrim only seat where TUV has chance of second MLA

The Giant's Causeway
The Giant's Causeway

North Antrim remains possibly one of the most predictable unionist constituencies.

Long associated with the Paisleys – the late DUP leader who was MP there for 40 years until his son, Ian junior, took over the Westminster seat in 2010 - this year, as in the previous assembly poll, there will be no Paisley on the ballot paper.

Encouraged by what he has heard on the doors, DUP stalwart Mervyn Storey said issues being raised with candidates include “employment, health and the issue of Europe”. He said this year the DUP would “definitely return three seats” adding there was a “possibility of four”.

But the UUP is hoping for a second MLA. Robin Swann said he felt his year “more bread and butter issues were being discussed on the doors in light of the impending job losses at JTI and Michelin”.

The late journalist Liam Clarke’s widow Kathryn Johnston is standing as one of the NI Labour rebels (NILRC).

TUV leader Jim Allister, who declined to try to predict how his party would fare on May 5, said the “electorate have watched and observed a Stormont that has perpetually failed”. “I expect to see a significant rise in the TUV vote in this constituency,” he added.

This is the party’s only constituency where it could win two seats. However the status quo will probably prevail in north Antrim - DUP (3); TUV (1); UUP (1); and Sinn Fein (1).

More stories from the election will be put on here later on Thursday and on Friday


• Jim Allister (TUV)

• Donna Anderson (UKIP)

• Jennifer Breslin (Green)

• Connor Duncan (SDLP)

• Paul Frew (DUP)

• Timothy Gaston (TUV)

• Kathryn Johnston (NI Labour Representation Committee)

• Philip Logan (DUP)

• Stephen McFarland (Alliance)

• David McIlveen (DUP)

• Daithí McKay (Sinn Fein)

• James Simpson (Cons.)

• Mervyn Storey (DUP)

• Robin Swan (UUP)

• Andrew Wright (UUP)


Paul Frew (DUP) 6,581 (16.3%)

Daithí McKay (SF) 6,152 (15.3%)

Mervyn Storey (DUP) 6,083 (15.1%)

Jim Allister (TUV) 4,061 (10.1%)

Declan O’Loan (SDLP) 3,682 (9.1%)

David McIlveen (DUP) 3,275 (8.1%)

Evelyne Robinson (DUP) 3,256 (8.1%)

Robin Swann (UUP) 2,518 (6.2%)

Bill Kennedy (UUP) 2,189 (5.4%)

Jayne Dunlop (Alliance) 1,848 (4.6%)

Audrey Patterson (TUV) 668 (1.7%)