ATHLETICS: Kerry O'Flaherty and Tom Frazer surge to victory at Titanic Quarter 10k

Kerry O'Flaherty and Tom Frazer took the major honours at the 10th Titanic Quarter 10K Race which attracted an entry of 1,400.

By The Newsroom
Sunday, 10th April 2016, 8:50 pm
Updated Sunday, 10th April 2016, 9:07 pm
Ann-Marie McGlynn finished second in the women's race
Ann-Marie McGlynn finished second in the women's race

The Ladies’ event was billed as a rematch between defending champion Ann-Marie McGlynn – the winner for the last two years – and Olympic qualified steeplechaser O’Flaherty – and so it proved.

The pair started quickly and came through four kilometres with Kerry just a stride in front. Marathon star Gladys Ganiel and Omagh and Larne winner Laura Graham were disputing third.

Kerry and Ann-Marie were still together at seven kilometres before Kerry got the break in the closing stages to win by 14 seconds. The times 34:17 and 34:31 were both faster than last year’s running mark.

Laura Graham continued her superb season by finishing third.

The Men’s race also produced a tremendous duel between Gary Murray and Tom Frazer. Frazer opened a small advantage in the last mile to win by five seconds with Madden superb in third ahead of Duffy, Agnew, Harron, O’Flaherty and McKinstry.

Jack Agnew had a very fast 26:55 to win the wheelchairs from Killian Dunne.

There were repeat wins in the one mile for Lagan Valley’s Cormac O’Rourke and Molly Dougan who just beat team mate Anna Hill.

Meanwhile, Rob Hope from Pudsey and Bramley produced a powerful run to win the Donard/Commedagh Horseshoe Race in the Mournes.

The event over 14 kilometres was the first round of the British Mountain Championship.

Alan Bogle led at the first checkpoint ahead of Rhys Findlay-Robinson, Sam Tosh and Hope but by the top of Donard it was Tosh by just two seconds from Hope.

The advantage was the same at Commedagh before four times British champion Hope descended strongly to win by eight seconds. Findlay-Robinson held third with Bogle top local in ninth ahead of Iain Whiteside 10th and William McKee 11th.

Heidi Dent from Howgill led for every step in the Ladies to win by almost four minutes from Sharon Taylor with Louise Roberts taking third from Helen Berry. Diane Wilson was leading home runner in 13th with Shileen O’Kane 16th. There were 246 finishers.