BOXING: Paddy Barnes wins at Waterfront Hall as Jamie Conlan claims WBC International Silver title

James Tennyson in action against Declan Geraghty
James Tennyson in action against Declan Geraghty

Paddy Barnes looked sharp as he saw off Adrian Dimas Garzon on points 60-54 over six rounds at the Waterfront Hall in Belfast on Friday night.

The former Olmpian looked good as he out boxed a tough opponent and Barnes he can be pushed on quickly.

And Jamie Conlan claimed the vacant WBC International Silver super-flyweight title after beating Yader Cardoza on points.

The Belfast fighter winning by split decision - 112-115, 114-113 and 115-113.

Conlan started well and was controlling the fight before he was dropped in the eighth round.

He fought back well after getting off the canvas but he looked tired.

But Conlan put in a big effort in the 11th round and this last round could be vital and Conlan held on.

James Tennyson claimed the Irish Featherweight title as the referee stopped the fight in the sixth round after Declan Geraghty had taken a few heavy shots.

It was a good win for Tennyson who had his rival on the canvas in the second round.

Tyrone McKenna retained his BUI Celtic Super-lightweight title against Jake Hanney after the referee stopped the contest in the sixth round.

It was a good display from McKenna and he controlled the fight for most of the rounds before stopping his Dublin rival.

Steven Ward got another win on his record as he saw off the tricky Curtis Curtis Gargano 40-36 on points.

The Light heavyweight did well against an opponent who had come to entertain and he certainly did that.

Featherweight Marco McCullough got a good points win 80-71 against Leonel Hernandez before he takes on Ryan Walsh for the British title.

It was a good performance from McCullough and he wilo have taken confidence from the fight.

And debutant Lewis Crocker looked good as he saw off Ferenc Jarko in the first round of their contest.

Crocker looks the business and he will be one to watch in the future.

There were also wins for Sean Turner,Con Sheehan, Troy Williamson, Gary Corcoran and Phil Sutcliffe jnr on the night.