Kurt Walker is off to flying start at Irish Elite Finals

Kurt Walker
Kurt Walker

Kurk Walker got his Irish Elite Finals off to a winning start in the quarter-finals at the weekend.

The AIBA World Youth bronze medallist saw off Gary McKenna 3-0 at the National Stadium in Dublin. Walker - from the Canal Club in Lisburn - looked the part as he claimed the win against McKenna.

McKenna worked hard but Walker’s skills were just too much for his opponent.

And London 2012 Olympian Adam Nolan moved to within two wins of winning his fourth Irish Elite title.

The Bray BC southpaw TKO’d Waterford welterweight Craig McCarthy in the first round at the South Circular Road venue. Beijing 2008 Olympian John Joe Joyce also advanced, while 2011 European Elite champion Ray Moylette beat Jason Conroy to set up a last-four clash with his great rival Ross Hickey.

“It wasn’t easy on the eye, but we’re here to get a job done and I’m glad to get the win under my belt, “ said Moylette, a gold medallist at the 2008 World Youth Championships

RESULTS: 57kg Moira McElligot (Rathkeale) beat Cheyanne O’Neill (Athlone) 2-0; 56kg Kurt Walker (Canal) beat Gary McKenna (Old School) 3-0; 56kg Sean Higginson (St John Bosco) beat Jason Kirwan (Ballagh) 3-0; 64kg Patrick Mongan (Olympic) beat Benaldo Marime (Holy Trinity) 2-1; 64kg Ray Moylette (St Annes) beat Jason Conroy (Crumlin) 3-0; 64kg Ross Hickey (Grancecon/ Def/Force) beat Niall Murray (Gorey) 3-0; 69kg John Joe Joyce (St Michaels Athy) beat Fergal Redmond (Arklow) 3-0; 69kg Wayne Kelly (Mullingar) beat Lee Sherlock (Corpus Christi) 3-0; 69kg Bernard Roe (Dublin Docklands) beat Michael Nevin (Portlaoise) 2-1; 69kg Adam Nolan (Bray) beat Craig McCarthy (St Pauls Waterford) TKO1; 75kg Conor Coyle (St Josephs Derry) beat Emmet Brennan (Corinthians) 2-175kg Caoimhin Hynes (Holy Trinity) beat Glory Lmuala (Maynooth) 3-0; 81kg Chris Blaney (Navan) beat Anthony Browne (St Michaels) 2-1; 91kg John Joe McDonagh (Crumlin) beat Patrick O’Shea (St Colmans) 3-0; 91kg Stephen McMonagle (Holy Trinity) beat Andrew Hanley (Bray) TKOI3 (3-0) and 91kg Kenneth Okungbowa (Athlone) beat Bernard O’Reilly (Portlaoise) 3-0