Nine champions crowned at National Elite Women’s Finals

Michaela Walsh
Michaela Walsh

Nine champions were crowned at the National Elite Women’s finals in Dublin on Saturday night.

A good crowd looked on as the finest of Ireland’s talent got to grips with each other at the National Stadium.

And the rising star of Irish boxing Lauren Hogan had her hand raised in victory following a hard-fought win over Maeve Clarke in the light-fly division.

Ceire Smith -the defending flyweight champion - beat EU Youth gold medallist Kristina O’Hara in a fantastic encounter.

Belfast’s Michaela Walsh won the 54kg division thanks to a walkover and the City of Belfast’s Fionna Nelson lost by two rounds to one to Diana Campbell of the Garda in the 81+ division.

RESULTS: 2015 Elite Female Finals

48kg Lauren Hogan (St Brigids, Offaly) beat Maeve Clarke (Ballinacarrow) 3-0

51kg Ceire Smith (Cavan) beat Kristina O’Hara (Emerald) 3-0

54kg Michaela Walsh (Holy Family) W/O

57kg Dervla Duffy (St Brigids, Kildare) beat Joanne Lambe (Carrickmacross) KO4

60kg Debbie O’Reilly (Olympic) beat Louise Donohue (Geesala) 3-0

64kg Kelly Harrington (St Margarets) beat Kayleigh Murrihy (Kilfenora) 3-0

69kg Claire Grace (Callan) beat Christina Desmond (Macroom) 2-1

75kg Laoise Traynor (Bray) W/O

81+kg Diana Campbell (Garda) beat Fionna Nelson (City of Belfast) 2-1