Brigade fall one run short at Coleraine

Gareth McKeegan
Gareth McKeegan

Coleraine pulled off what many would have thought the impossible as they beat Brigade by just one run in a low-scoring Twenty20 Cup thriller at Sandel Lodge on Thursday night.

The Bannsiders appeared to be out of contention as they limped to just 106 for seven batting first. Niall McDonnell top scored with 32 and no other batsman reached 20 as Simon Dunn claimed three for 28.

Brigade looked on course as they got to 45 for one in reply but Johnny Thompson departed for 29 from just 27 balls to Coleraine professional Kylin Vardhan (3-21) to hand the home side a lifeline.

Gareth Burns, the opening bowler, bowled a crucial spell in the later overs, removing captain Gareth McKeegan and Adam McDaid as the required rate started to climb.

When the last over started, Brigade somehow found themselves still needing 10 to win but with the dangerous Andy Britton Band Richard Hepburn at the crease.

However Gordon Cooke collected Briton’s wicket from the third delivery and Brigade couldn’t complete what should have been a routine run chase.

Fox Lodge’s batting woes continued as they were dismissed for a miserable 79 by resurgent Donemana at The Holm.

Apart from last Sunday’s sterling effort against Clontarf in the Irish Cup, Fox Lodge have struggled badly for runs all season and once again Brian Allen played virtually a lone hand at Donemana.

The left-hander top scored with 23 as the visitors were dismissed in just 18 overs. Luke Hayes made an unbeaten 21 and Sunday’s centurion Tabish Khan, the Pakistan professional, added 20.

The McClintock twins, Gary and William, were the pick of the Donemana attack as they shared six wickets with Junior McBrine in on the act with two wickets.

Donemana, who are starting to find form after a slow start to the season, wasted little time in knocking off the runs.

Openers Steven Wallace and Kamran Sajid made an unbeaten 44 and 30 respectively as they cruised home after just 10.1 overs.

Newbuildings sprang a surprise in the all-Championship tie as they edged out Glendermott by eight runs. Newbuildings posted 137 for nine and Glendermott fell short despite 45 from professional Roy Silva.

Fox Lodge 79 all out, 18 overs (B Allen 23, L Hayes, 21 not out, T Khan 20, G McClintock 3-10, W McClintock 3-13, J McBrine 2-10). Donemana 84-0, 10.1 overs (S Wallace 44 no, K Sajid 30 no). Donemana won by 10 wickets.

At Sandel Lodge: Coleraine 106-7 (N McDonnell 32, S Dunn 3-28, A Britton 2-13, J Thompson 2-20). Brigade 105-8 (J Thompson 29, D Amarnath 23, G Cooke 2-13, G Burns 3-19, K Vardhan 3-21). Coleraine won by one run.

Newbuildings 137-9, 20 overs (D Culbert 23, J Turner 23, C Ross 3-28, R Silva 2-22), Glendermott 129-8 (R Silva 45, S Killen 23, J Turner 3-16, D Culbert 2-28). Newbuildings won by eight runs.

In the NCU Twenty20 Trophy, Derriaghy beat Templepatrick by eight wickets in the final over at Queensway last night.