CRICKET: Irish squad named for Netherlands tour

Nigel Jones is part of the management team for Ireland Under 17s
Nigel Jones is part of the management team for Ireland Under 17s

Jack Tector will skipper the Ireland Under 17 side which goes into action in the ICC Europe Challenge series in The Netherlands next week.

The Irish youngsters will play the hosts in two 50 overs contests before finishing with a T20 encounter.

“It’s a well balanced squad with plenty of really exciting prospects,” said coach Nigel Jones. “There’s been a lot of hard work over the winter months and you can see the positive results from the players performances in the respective leagues.

“The players are all playing Senior cricket and making crucial contributions to their team at that level, which is really heartening from our stand-point.”

Pembroke have four representatives in the 13 man squad, with opening batsman Sonny Cott, pace bowler David Murphy and the Tucker brothers. Clontarf’s prolific batsman Colin Currie is joined by club mate David Delany, while Phoenix also have two players in the 13 man squad - fast-bowler Rory Anders and spinner Ben White.

Donemana twins Gary and William McClintock are included, along with Strabane all-rounder Aaron Gillespie and Waringstown opener Adam Dennison.

The squad in full is as follows:

Jack Tector (capt) (YMCA), Rory Anders (Phoenix), Sonny Cott (Pembroke),Colin Currie (Clontarf), David Delany (Clontarf), Adam Dennison (Waringstown), Aaron Gillespie (Strabane), David Murphy (Pembroke), Gary McClintock (Donemana), William McClintock (Donemana), Fiachra Tucker (Pembroke), Lorcan Tucker (Pembroke), Ben White (Phoenix)

Management; Ted Williamson and Nigel Jones