Experience is key for Ireland Women’s World T20 squad

Ireland's Isobel Joyce.
Ireland's Isobel Joyce.

Cricket Ireland selectors have named an experienced 15-player squad - with collectively more than 1,000 international appearances - for the upcoming ICC Women’s World T20 tournament in the Caribbean in November.

Australian-born Celeste Raack comes into the Irish set-up after declaring for Ireland.

Carrie Archer, Chair of Women’s National Selectors, said at the announcement: “We have picked a strong and experienced side that we believe will be best suited for the tournament opposition and the conditions in the Caribbean.

“Captain Laura Delany will lead out a side which is on an upward trajectory after finishing the summer on a high and keen to impress their credentials on the world stage.

“This is our third consecutive appearance in the World T20s and arguably this is one of the strongest squads we have selected over that time.

Aaron Hamilton, Head Coach of the Ireland Women’s national team, said the squad underlined the importance of big game experience.

“It’s a great squad, one which is both a reward for performance and an acknowledgement at how important big game experience is at international tournaments.

“When you’re at a world cup with the TV cameras, big crowds and big venues, it is important to ensure the younger players are surrounded by experienced heads,” he said.

“It’s important that every player is there on their merits and every player is contributing – and for senior players it’s all about the example they set. You just have to look at Clare Shillington – she may be Ireland’s longest serving member, Ireland’s highest run scorer and recently announced she would be retiring after this tournament - but she is still showing the same commitment to her game that she always has.”

Ireland squad: Laura Delany (Captain), Kim Garth, Cecelia Joyce, Isobel Joyce, Shauna Kavanagh, Amy Kenealy, Gaby Lewis, Lara Maritz, Ciara Metcalfe, Lucy O’Reilly, Celeste Raack, Eimear Richardson, Clare Shillington, Rebecca Stokell, Mary Waldron.

The ICC World T20 tournament schedule - Ireland

Warm-up matches

• 4 November: Bangladesh v Ireland, Guyana (20:00 GMT)

• 7 November: Sri Lanka v Ireland, Antigua (20:00 GMT)

Group Stage

• 11 November: Australia v Ireland, Guyana (20:00 GMT)

• 13 November: Pakistan v Ireland, Guyana (20:00 GMT)

• 15 November: India v Ireland, Guyana (20:00 GMT)

• 17 November: New Zealand v Ireland, Guyana (d/n) (00:00 GMT, 18 Nov)


• 22 November: First semi-final, Antigua (20:00 GMT)

• 22 November: Second semi-final, Antigua (d/n) (00:00 GMT, 23 Nov)

• 24 November: Final, Antigua (d/n) (00:00 GMT, 25 Nov)