Jack Tector to captain Irish cricketing stars of the future in ICC European Challenge Series

Adam Dennison is included in the Ireland squad
Adam Dennison is included in the Ireland squad

Jack Tector will captain the next generation of Irish cricketing stars as they embark on the first round of the ICC European Challenge Series against The Netherlands in Dublin next week (July 15-17).

Tector is joined in the squad by his Claremont Road club mate Bobby Gamble, whose impressive displays with the new ball for YMCA this season have earned him a place in the Leinster Lightning training squad.

Other players to have featured in the Newstalk Inter-Provincial Series include North Down all-rounder Peter Eakin, who took four wickets for the Northern Knights in their win over the NW Warriors, while off-spinner Rishi Chopra claimed three wickets as the Warriors shocked Leinster Lightning. Ross Allen and Gary McClintock have also been involved in the Series, and bright futures are predicted for all.

Ireland’s Under 17 side performed excepionally well in the ICC European Challenge Series last year, as well as winning the event in 2012, and with the majority of that squad still involved, will be hoping to repeat that success this time around.

“It’s a very exciting squad with lots of all-rounders,” said Under 19 head coach Ryan Eagleson. “There’s an excellent balance to the line-up which has a number of impact players, who can all change the course of a game very quickly.

“Most of the players included are involved in our recently established Cricket Ireland National Academy, and this has benefitted their cricketing progression immensely.

“We’re all looking forward to the series of games which should be a good contest against what is expected to be a very strong Dutch squad.”

There will be two 50 over matches at Merrion and Rathmines on July 15 and 16, while the series concludes with a T20 game, also at Rathmines on Thursday July 17.

IRELAND UNDER 19 SQUAD: Jack Tector (capt) (YMCA), Ross Allen (Eglinton), Rory Anders (Phoenix), Rishi Chopra (Coleraine), Sonny Cott (Pembroke), Adam Dennison (Waringstown), Peter Eakin (North Down), Bobby Gamble (YMCA), Gary McClintock (Donemana), James McCollum (Waringstown), David Murphy (Pembroke), Fiachra Tucker (Pembroke), Lorcan Tucker (Pembroke).

Management; Ryan Eagleson (Coach), Brian O’Rourke (Manager), Niamh Connolly (Physio).

ICC Europe Challenge Series Fixtures: Ireland v Netherlands, Angelsea Road, Merrion, Tuesday 15 July, 50 overs, (11am); Ireland v Netherlands, Rathmines, Leinster, Wednesday 16 July, 50 overs, (11am); Ireland v Netherlands, Rathmines, Leinster, Thursday 17 July, 20 overs, (11am)