Leinster Lightning defeat Northern Knights to lift Inter Provincial T20 Trophy

Juan (Rusty) Theron
Juan (Rusty) Theron

Leinster Lighting clinched their third Hanley Energy T20 Trophy in four seasons after beating Northern Knights by 24 runs at Comber on Friday night.

Chasing 138 for victory, The Knights never recovered from losing skipper James Shannon to the first ball of the reply - well caught by Kenny Carroll off Eddie Richardson.

The Irish international triumvirate of Richardson - captain for the day - Tyrone Kane and Peter Chase claimed two wickets apiece to leave the Knights innings in complete disarray at 39 for 6.

Lee Nelson hit 31 from 32 balls (three fours) to start a recovery, but it was the hard hitting exploits of Rusty Theron which gave the innings some respectability.

The South African hit an undefeated 54 from just 37 balls, striking three fours and clearing the ropes four times in an entertaining cameo, but it was far too late to affect the outcome of the result.

Earlier Kenny Carroll top scored with 30 off 29 balls (3 fours) as Lightning got off to a strong start, before the Knights fought back.

Leg spinner Jacob Mulder - playing on his home ground - took 3 for 22 as Lightning collapsed from 30 for 0 to 67 for 6.

Skipper Richardson (27), George Dockrell (23), and Joe Carroll (20*) showed the strength in depth of the Lightning side as they recovered to post 137 for eight - which proved more than enough on a day when bowlers were on top.


At Comber, Leinster beat Northern Knights by 24 runs

LEINSTER LIGHTNING: 137/8 (20 overs, K Carroll 30, E Richardson 27, G Dockrell 23, J Carroll 20*, J Mulder 3-22)

NORTHERN KNIGHTS: 113/7 (20 overs, R Theron 54*, L Nelson 31, P Chase 2-13, T Kane 2-16, E Richardson 2-24)