Tyrone Kane inspires Leinster Lightning to victory against North West Warriors

Tyrone Kane
Tyrone Kane

Tyrone Kane produced the best analysis in T20 Inter-Provincial cricket to set up Leinster Lightning for an emphatic seven-wicket win against North West Warriors in the Hanley Energy Trophy game at Angelsea Road.

Merrion all-rounder Kane delighted the home support with a spell of 5 for 15 which ripped the heart out of the visitors top order, reducing them to 31 for 5.

Irish internationals Stuart Thompson and Graeme McCarter launched a Warriors fightback with a sixth wicket stand of 90 - the second best partnership in the T20 format.

Thompson struck an unbeaten 71 from just 56 balls (6 fours, 3 sixes) receiving excellent support from McCarter, who scored 39 from 41 deliveries (3 fours, 1 six).

Their stand was ended in the final over of the innings, with McCarter being bowled by Max Sorensen (1-17), as the Warriors finished on 131 for 6.

Lightning made their intentions clear from the outset, attacking at every opportunity in an effort to secure a bonus point.

Kenny Carroll smashed a belligerent 33 from 21 balls (4 fours, 1 six), dominating an opening stand of 49 with Lightning skipper John Mooney, before being cleaned up by Stuart Thompson (1-30)

John Anderson (8) fell to a stunning caught and bowled by Warriors captain Andrew McBrine (1-19), and Andrew Poynter (12) went caught in the deep off the spin of Rishi Chopra (1-17).

John Mooney reached a deserved half century from 48 balls (7 fours) as Lightning eased to a well deserved seven wicket win.

Max Sorensen (24*) ended proceedings with consectuive sixes, sharing an unbroken fourth wicket stand of 62 in 52 deliveries with Mooney (53*), as Lightning made it three wins out of three in the Trophy competition. Their final game is away at Eglinton to the Warriors next Sunday (May 31st).

The Warriors are back in representative action this Sunday when they travel to Downpatrick to face the Northern Knights in the Inter-Provincial Championship, while Leinster Lightning take on the Ireland Under 19 side at Oakhill, also on Sunday.

Hanley Energy Inter-Provincial Trophy

At Angelsea Road,

NORTH WEST WARRIORS 131/9 (20 overs, S Thompson 71*, G McCarter 39, T Kane 5-15)

LEINSTER LIGHTNING 137/3 (17.2 overs, J Mooney 53*, K Carroll 33, M Sorensen 24*)

Leinster Lightning won by 7 wickets