Waringstown and Merrion both at full strength for Irish Cup final

Waringstown's Gary Kidd, vice-captain Greg Thompson and Adam Dennison
Waringstown's Gary Kidd, vice-captain Greg Thompson and Adam Dennison

Waringstown and Merrion will both be at full strength for their Irish Senior Cup final clash at The Lawn on Saturday.

The teams look evenly matched, with both going into the blue riband decider in good form. Waringstown all but wrapped up the NCU title with a ten wicket win at Lisburn in midweek, while Merrion’s one wicket win at North County took them to the summit of LCU Division One.

“Everyone as you can imagine is really looking forward to the showpiece final of the year,” said Waringstown captain Lee Nelson.

“The fact that it is on our home ground makes it that extra bit special. Glenavon were due to play Portadown the same day in the mid Ulster derby which has been postponed so we are hoping to have a bumper crowd enabling the whole local community to come and watch the cricket,” added the Ireland A all-rounder.

Merrion have no injury concerns ahead of the game with skipper Rory Allwright declaring a clean bill of health for the Angelsea Road side.

“Our injury concerns from a number of weeks back have fortunately calmed in such a way that we’re happy to be bringing our strongest team up to The Lawn,” said Allwright.

“Given that four of our players - Joyce, Anderson, Kane and Stanton -have been unavailable at some point or other due to representative commitments, it’s nice at this stage to have a full squad available to select from.

“That’s tough for the guys who will miss out on the day but they have been very supportive and we’re fully all aware that it’s been a squad effort getting us to this stage of the competition.”

WARINGSTOWN: Lee Nelson (captain), James Hall, James McCollum, Lee Nelson, Adam Dennison, JP De Villiers, Greg Thompson, David Dawson, Kyle McCallan, Johnny Bushe, Gary Kidd, Phil Eaglestone, 12th/13th James Mitchell and Stuart Kidd

MERRION: Rory Allwright (captain), Dom Joyce, Dave Langford-Smith, John Anderson, Tyrone Kane, Michael Lewis, Lennard Bester, Robin Smith, David Rhoda, Tom Stanton, Hugh Kennedy.

Saturday’s final is due to start at 11.30am.