Waringstown move top of NCU Premier League

Lee Nelson, Waringstown
Lee Nelson, Waringstown

Waringstown took the outright lead of the NCU Premier League on Friday night after winning an entertaining Twenty20 game at The Lawn by 51 runs against Ballymena.

The villagers posted a mammoth 222 for seven batting first, a total that would be considered out of sight against most opposition.

James Kennedy then fell to the first ball of Ballymena’s reply but Yogesh Takawale, their Indian professional, launched a blistering assault on the Waringstown attack on a brilliant batting pitch.

The IPL player was particularly severe on Kyle McCallan and Ballymena reached 50 in just four overs.

At the halfway point the visitors were 99 for two with Takawale bringing up in his 50 in just 23 balls but in the 11th over came the match’s defining moment.

James Hall took pace off the ball and Takawale, after making 62 from 34, lofted the ball to Greg Thompson at long-off. Ballymena kept batting aggressively but finished on 171-8

Earlier Lee Nelson, the Waringstown captain, top scored with 69 from just 50 balls, including seven fours and three sixes while Thompson smashed four sixes in his 32 and James Hall made 39 from 19.

Adam Dennison struck four fours and a six in his 28 from just 10 balls.

Waringstown 222-7 (L Nelson 69, J Hall 39, G Thompson 32, A Dennison 28, M Purse 3-30), Ballymena 171-8 (Y Takawale 62, D Kennedy 30, S Lazars 27, J Hall 3-18, G Thompson 2-38, J McCollum 2-6); Waringstown won by 51 runs.