David Martin is elected new president of the Irish Football Association

New Irish FA president David Martin
New Irish FA president David Martin

David Martin has been elected as the Irish Football Association’s new president.

Martin, who has been Deputy President, Vice President and Treasurer of the Association, was voted in at the IFA’s council meeting held at Windsor Park.

He succeeds Jim Shaw who has held the post of President since November 2010.

Linfield board member Jack Grundie was elected to the role of first Deputy President, with Crawford Wilson, former President of the County Antrim FA, elected as the second Deputy President.

“I am honoured to have been elected to this role and I look forward to serving the football community across Northern Ireland,” said Martin.

“It has been a remarkable few weeks for the international team in France and my aim will be to help the Association build on that success and to help grow the game at all levels.”

Martin was voted in as one of the IFA’s deputy presidents in 2013, having failed to be voted into the position in 2011 after failing a suitability test.

He initially resigned from the IFA with then president Raymond Kennedy following the sacking of former association chief executive Howard Wells in 2010, but returned to the Association with a unanimous vote three years later.

Wells’ sacking cost the association £500,000 in an unfair dismissal case and both Martin and Kennedy were subsequently removed from their positions.