De La Salle claim Cup success for ninth time

De La Salle from Belfast claimed the Danske Bank Senior Cup for the ninth time at New Grosvenar after beating St Malachy’s 3-1.

De La Salle had the first clear cut chance of the match just two minutes in but Declan Dunne couldn’t get a connection to the ball at the back post .

They did take the lead after Declan Dunnes cross was misjudged by Aiden Tobin, the ball falling to the feet of Donal Rocks who fired the ball powerfully into the net in the tenth minute.

De La Salle went two ahead shortly afterwards as a goalkeeping error from Tobin saw Paddy Burns clear the ball off the line however the defence failed to deal with the ball and Dunne turned the ball home from close range .

The rest of the half fizzled out with not many chances being created as De La Salle were in control and went in at the break 2-0 ahead.

St Malachys had a goalscoring opportunity in the opening minutes of the second half as Niall Gilleece cut inside from the right, his shot was well saved by Tiarnan Campbell.

De La Salle went three ahead when Donal Rocks played in Nathan Fox and he struck powerfully into the net to surely seal another Cup victory for La Salle.

St Malachys pulled a goal back as Paddy Burns scored from a freekick

Then De La Salle were reduced to ten men in the last minute as Nathan Fox was sent off for a second yellow card.

De La Salle: Tiarnan Campbell, Rory Courtney,Barry McCrea,Niall McParland (C) Core Walsh , Nathan Fox, Donal Rocks, Sean Wallace,Caoimhinn McGuinness, Noel Healy, Declan Dunne.

St Malachy’s: Aiden Tobin, Ethan McErlean , Eoghan O’Hare, Paddy Ross, Jack Maguire, Canice McDonald, Niall Gilleece, Lorcan McIlroy, Bobby Burns (C) Padraig Slane, Padddy Burns .

Referee: David Kelly

Assistants Joe Wilson & Jason McCord

Fourth Official Ben McMaster