IRISH LEAGUE: Glentoran and Coleraine share spoils at the Oval

Glentoran's  Kristian Gibson  and Coleraine's  Darren McCauley
Glentoran's Kristian Gibson and Coleraine's Darren McCauley


Curtis Allen rescued a point for Glentoran in this Hallowe’en shocker at the Oval.

The Bannsiders stormed into an early lead through through Rodney Brown, but Allen levelled to maintain Glentoran’s unbeaten run following the sacking of manager Eddie Patterson.

Temporary Glens boss Roy Coyle made two enforced changes to the team that bagged all three points at Warrenpoint last weeekend. Midfielder Steven Gordon was down with a bout of flu, while Francis McCaffery was out with a back injury.

Young guns Jonathan Smith and Kristian Gibson were handed starting shirts.

Coleraine chief Oran Kearney not surprisingly named the same team that were held to a scoreless draw at home to Cliftonville.

Elliott Morris prevented the Bannsiders taking the lead after only three minutes. Brad Lyons was fouled by a clumsy challenge from Marcus Kane and Neil McCafferty stepped up to send in free kick that the alert shot stopper pushed past the post.

But Morris had no chance seconds later, McCafferty’s corner kick was met by Brown and his thumper header ballooned the net.

Morris again rescued the home team on eight minutes, McCafferty’s audacious 30 yard effort was flipped over the crossbar by the long-serving keeper.

But Glentoran did equalise on 13 minutes. Conor McMenamin was brought down by the outstretched boot of Lyndon Kane and Latvian referee Edgar Malcevs awarded a penalty kick.

Allen confidently blasted the ball well out of the reach of Doherty.

Doherty produced a breathtaking save to prevent Kane heading the Glens into the lead on 59 minutes.

Glentoran: Morris, Gibson, Kane, Holland, Garrett, Addis, Smith (McCullough 83), McAlorum, Allen, McMenamin (O’Hanlon 19), Scullion (Caldwell 38).

Subs not used: Henderson, Hogg.

Coleraine: Doherty Beverland, Mullan, Douglas, McCauley (McGonigle 85), McCafferty, Harkin, Brown (Higgins 46), McLaughlin, Lyons (Parkhill 34), Kane.

Subs not used: Watt, Falconer.

Referee E Malcevs (Latvia).