Michael O’Neill trims squad ahead of crunch Euro 2016 game

Liam Boyce
Liam Boyce

Michael O’Neill has trimmed his Northern Ireland squad from 28 to 25 players ahead of next week’s (Saturday, June 13) crucial Euro 2016 qualifier against Romania in Belfast.

Among the trio who have been left out is Liam Boyce.

The Ross County striker will miss the Windsor Park clash along with Aberdeen’s Billy McKay and MK Dons Ben Reeves.

SQUAD: Goalkeepers: Roy Carroll (Notts County), Michael McGovern (Hamilton Academicals), Trevor Carson (Cheltenham Town)

Defenders: Aaron Hughes (Unattached), Chris Baird, Gareth McAuley (both West Bromwich Albion), Jonny Evans (Manchester United), Craig Cathcart (Watford), Shane Ferguson (Newcastle United), Daniel Lafferty (Burnley), Conor McLaughlin (Fleetwood Town), Luke McCullough (Doncaster Rovers), Paddy McNair (Manchester United)

Midfielders: Steve Davis (Southampton), Chris Brunt (West Bromwich Albion), Corry Evans (Blackburn Rovers), Oliver Norwood (Reading), Pat McCourt (Unattached), Stuart Dallas (Brentford)

Forwards: Kyle Lafferty (Norwich City), Josh Magennis (Kilmarnock), Will Grigg (Brentford), Niall McGinn (Aberdeen), Jamie Ward (Unattached), Caolan Lavery (Sheffield Wednesday)