NIFL to establish NI Women’s Premiership

Newry City Ladies and managment celebrate winning the NIWFA Premier League
Newry City Ladies and managment celebrate winning the NIWFA Premier League

The NI Football League is proud to announce the establishment of the NIFL Women’s Premiership which will commence in April 2016.

The NIFL Women’s Premiership will be comprised of the top eight teams in Northern Ireland and follows discussions with the NI Women’s FA who previously administered and have developed women’s football so well for the past 40 years.

Ahead of the kick-off of the inaugural NIFL Women’s Premiership season, NIFL in partnership with the Irish FA are holding a Development Day on Saturday March 5 for Northern Ireland’s top women’s clubs.

This workshop is being supported by UEFA with Emily Shaw, Women’s Football Development Manager, and Ebru Koksal, Mentor in the UEFA Women in Football Leadership Programme, who will be facilitating several of the discussions throughout the day.

The NIFL Women’s Premiership Management Committee held their inaugural meeting recently with Glentoran Belfast United representative, Maura Muldoon, nominated at Chairperson and Mid Ulster Ladies representative nominated as Vice Chairperson.

More information and announcements in respect of the NIFL Women’s Premiership to follow in due course.

2016 NIFL Women’s Premiership teams: Cliftonville Ladies; Crusaders Strikers; Derry City Ladies; Glentoran B U; Linfield Ladies; Mid Ulster Ladies; Newry City Ladies and Sion Swifts.