Portadown edge out Warrepoint

Gary Twigg
Gary Twigg


Portadown made it two wins from two in the Danske Bank Premiership with a spirited 2-1 victory over Warrenpoint Town on Wednesday night.

Trailing to Daniel Hughes’ first-half strike, the Ports responded with goals from Gary Twigg and Keith O’Hara to earn maximum points at Shamrock Park.

The double spared Chris Casement’s blushes after the defender had a penalty saved by Jonny Parr in the 29th minute.

It wouldn’t deny Ronnie McFall’s men a rare win over Warrenpoint, however - a side they failed to beat in three Premiership fixtures last season.

The visitors claimed the lead with the last kick of the first half.

It came from the boot of Daniel Hughes, the striker thundering home a superb strike from the edge of the box after his initial free-kick had been blocked.

It compounded Portadown’s misery after Casement’s missed penalty.

Chris Ramsey tumbled under Mark Hughes’ challenge inside the Warrenpoint box, but Casement’s spot-kick was well saved by Parr.

At the other end David Miskelly did enough to block Stephen Hughes’ low drive with his feet.

Warrenpoint gifted Portadown their equaliser less than 90 seconds after the restart.

Dermot McVeigh attempted to guide the ball back to Parr, but the defender’s weak pass fell short allowing Twigg to slide in and nudge the ball past the onrushing Warrenpoint goalkeeper.

The Ports claimed the lead in the 52nd minute, skipper O’Hara powering home a close-range header from Ross Redman’s corner.

Warrenpoint almost claimed a late share of the spoils in injury time, but Miskelly expertly tipped Daniel Hughes’s deflected shot onto the post before palming Sean Donnelly’s long-range effort behind.

PORTADOWN: Miskelly, Casement, Redman, O’Hara, Ramsey, Breen, McMahon (Soares 72), Mackle, Twigg, Mouncey, Garrett.

Subs not used: Brennan, Oman, Richardson, Stewart.

WARRENPOINT: Parr, King (Dane 46), M. Hughes, McVeigh, Moan, McGuigan, S. Hughes, D. Hughes, Dolan (McCabe 60), Bagnall, Boyle.

Subs not used: Anderson, Donnelly, Smith.

Referee: Steven Gregg (Ballyclare)