Dermot McElroy still in hunt for West of Ireland Championship

Dermot McElroy
Dermot McElroy

Just three Ulster players remain in contention to win the West of Ireland Championship at Co Sligo GC after the opening two rounds of match-play.

Irish internationals, John Ross Galbraith (Whitehead) and Dermot McElroy (Ballymena) have been joined in the last 16 by Tiarnan McLarnon (Massereene).

Defending champion, Jack Hume (Naas), was sent packing by Stephen Brady (Galway) in round 2&1 yesterday.

Hume, who came into the tournament cold having received a bye into the knockout stages, endured a disappointing defence of his crown but there was little he could do when Brady was so hot on the greens.

“Jack played fairly solid, he hit a lot of good shots. I just got up early and I played very well,” said Brady, who was six under on his round.

The last second round match, between Eugene Smith (Ardee) and Barry Anderson (Royal Dublin) will resume this mornig at 7.30am.

Play was interrupted again yesterday morning by fog, causing a two-hour delay

Round Three draw
Stephen Healy (Carton House) v Kevin Le Blanc (The Island); Barry Daly (Edmondstown) v Eanna Griffin (Waterford); Jack Pierse (Portmarnock) v Richard Bridges (Stackstown); Tiarnan McLarnon (Massereene) v Des Morgan (Mullingar); John Ross Galbraith (Whitehead) v Robbie Cannon (Balbriggan); Sean Flanagan (Co Sligo) v Pat Murray (Limerick); Dermot McElroy (Ballymena) v Eddie McCormack (Galway); Gary McDermott (Carton House) v Eugene Smith (Ardee) or Barry Anderson (Royal Dublin)